BCCI asks two Indian selectors to accompany the squad on Sri Lanka tour

BCCI asks two Indian selectors to accompany the squad on Sri Lanka tour

India's tour of Sri Lanka is all set to commence next month.

India A coach Rahul Dravid (Photo by Mike Egerton/PA Images via Getty Images)

The COVID-19 travel restrictions and other issues related to it have cut down the movement of Indian selectors with the squad but now they will be up with the players soon. India couldn’t send any selectors for their tour to WTC Final at Southampton due to UK travel guidelines. However, BCCI has asked two selectors to move with the team to their tour to Sri Lanka.

Abey Kuruvilla and Debasis Mohanty are the two selectors of the Chetan Sharma-headed selection panel that will travel to Sri Lanka with Shikhar Dhawan and his men. India is all set to play three ODIs and as many T20Is against the Island nation, next month. A BCCI official just confirmed the same development to Cricbuzz.

“They are already in Mumbai and are quarantining with other members of the touring party,” said the BCCI official.

Rahul Dravid to accompany India as head coach on tour to Sri Lanka

India’s former ace batsman Rahul Dravid is all set to be travel to Sri Lanka as head coach of the relatively younger Indian contingent. The side consists of 25 members which will travel alongside 18-member support staff. Sudhir Asnani, a former international panel umpire will also be joining the squad as manager. The Indian side is all set to leave for Lanka on July 13.

Talking about travel restrictions in the UK, it is not even guaranteed that any member of the selection committee will be present with the Indian side that will face England from August 4. It is expected that the younger lot of India will be keen to return victorious from their Sri Lanka tour.

Support staff of India on Sri Lanka tour

Support Staff: Rahul Dravid (head coach); Sudheer Asnani (Manager), Paras Mhambrey (Bowling coach), T Dilip (Fielding coach); Ashish Kaushik (Physio), Niranjan Pandit (Physio), Anand Date (trainer), AI Harsha (Trainer), Ashok Sadh (Training assistant – throwdown specialist), Sourav Ambadkar (Throwdown specialist), Nandan Majhi (Masseur), Mangesh Gaikwad (Masseur), L Varun (Analyst), Anand Subramaniam (media manager), Ameya Tilak (Content producer), Abhijit Salvi (Team doctor), Ravindra Dholpure (Anti-corruption and security officer) and Sumeet Mallapurkar (Logistics manager).