Big Bash League (BBL) 2020-21 - Stats Highlights

Big Bash League (BBL) 2020-21 – Stats Highlights

Sydney Sixers became the second team to defend the title in BBL.

Sydney Sixers
Sydney Sixers. (Photo Source: Getty Images)

Sydney Sixers defeated the Perth Scorchers by 27 runs to successfully defend their Big Bash League (BBL) title. After losing the toss, the Sixers rode on a brilliant 95-run knock from James Vince to post 188/6 in their 20 overs. Rest of the batsmen couldn’t put up a big score but they contributed significant runs to propel the team. In response, Liam Livingstone (45) and Cameron Bancroft (30) fought hard for the Scorchers but none of the other batsmen could get going as they ended on 161/9 falling short of the target.

Here are all the statistical highlights from the 2020-21 BBL season:

3 – Sydney Sixers now have won three BBL titles (2011-12, 2019-20, and 2020-21) in the history of the tournament, the joint-most with Perth Scorchers (2013-14, 2014-15 and 2016-17) also winning the trophy thrice.

3 – This is the third time that Perth Scorchers have ended up as the runners-up in the BBL. He lost in the finals of 2011-12, 2012-13, and 2020-21 editions. Melbourne Stars is the other team that has lost in the three finals of 2015-16, 2018-19, 2019-20 BBL seasons.

2 – Sydney Sixers became the second team in the history of BBL to defend the title. Perth Scorchers was the first side to do so winning back-to-back titles in the 2013-14 and 2014-15 seasons.

30 – Perth Scorchers’ Jhye Richardson picked up 29 wickets in this BBL season. These are the second-most ever in an edition of Australia’s T20 tournament. Daniel Sams of Sydney Thunder scalped 30 wickets in the 2019-20 season.

537 – James Vince ended the BBL 2020-21 with 537 runs to his name which are the most for the Sydney Sixers in a season ever. Josh Philippe also scored 508 runs this season which are the second most while the same player had slammed 487 runs in the 2019-20 edition.

24 – Ben Dwarshius picked 24 wickets this season for the Sixers which are the most ever in an edition for the team. Sean Abbott, in 2018-19 season, and Tom Curran, in 2019-20 season, accounted for 22 scalps each.

7 – Moises Henriques won his seventh T20 final which is the second most for an Australian player. Daniel Christian has won as many as nine finals in T20 format.

4 – This season on four instances, a Sydney Sixers batsman either remained unbeaten or got out in the 90s. James Vince scored 98* and 95 in the playoffs phase while Daniel Hughes smashed 96 against the Melbourne Stars. Josh Philippe was dismissed on 95 against the Melbourne Renegades as well. Sydney Sixers is the only team with no individual century in the history of BBL.

245 – James Vince scored 245 runs against the Perth Scorchers this season. These are the most against an opponent in an edition. Previous highest was 224 runs from Marcus Stoinis against the Sydney Sixers in BBL 2019-20 season.

16 – Jordan Silk took 16 catches in this BBL season which are the joint-most ever in the history of the tournament. Glenn Maxwell also took 16 catches for Melbourne Stars in 2018-19 BBL season.