BPL 2017, Match 1 Preview: Sylhet Sixers vs Dhaka Dynamites

Whilst controversies have remained an integral part of the tournament, the fans would be hoping this edition will be remembered only for cricketing reasons.

Krishmar Santokie
Krishmar Santokie of Sylhet Sixers during the practice session. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The long wait is over for all the Bangladeshi players as another exciting edition of Bangladesh Premier League kicks off on Saturday. The defending champions Dhaka Dynamites led by Shakib Al Hasan will be locking horns with the Sylhet Sixers in the Sylhet International Stadium. A huge crowd is expected to turn up at Sylhet on Saturday for this inaugural game.

Middle-order batsman Sabbir Rahman will be the icon player for the Sylhet franchise. Apart from a bunch of local talented players, they have some experienced International stars like Babar Azam, Upul Tharanga, and Liam Plunkett, who will bring in some firepower in the side. They will also have Krishmar Santokie, the lanky and unorthodox left-arm pacer from West Indies.


Dhaka is a star-studded unit with a bunch of match-winners in their bag. Shakib will be their local superstar, they will also have the services of Kumar Sangakkara, Shane Watson, Evin Lewis and Shahid Afridi. Whilst controversies have remained an integral part of the tournament, the fans would be hoping this edition will be remembered only for cricketing reasons.

Toss: Sylhet Sixers won the toss and elected to field

Dhaka Dynamites (Playing XI): Kumar Sangakkara(w), Evin Lewis, Shakib Al Hasan(c), Cameron Delport, Kieron Pollard, Mosaddek Hossain, Mehedi Maruf, Mohammad Shahid, Adil Rashid, Abu Hider Rony, Saqlain Sajib

Sylhet Sixers (Playing XI): Upul Tharanga, Andre Fletcher, Ross Whiteley, Sabbir Rahman, Nasir Hossain(c), Shuvagata Hom, Nurul Hasan(w), Taijul Islam, Abul Hasan, Liam Plunkett, Krishmar Santokie

Focus will be on

Sabbir Rahman (SYLHET)

People did see the talent Sabbir Rahman possesses, but as a captain of the side, it’s a different ball game. His franchise has entrusted him to lead this dynamic unit and he will be needing a lot of assistance from Nasir Hossain and Babar Azam. He might entrust three of his best foreign batsmen to go all out in the top 3 and he will be coming in at number 4.

Evin Lewis (DHAKA)

In the last few months, whenever Evin Lewis got going, he won his side the game. The youngster is turning out to be one of the brightest prospects in world cricket. He will be the first-choice opener for Rahman as he will look to exploit the inexperience in Dhaka’s fast bowling contingent with some aggressive hitting. Who better than Lewis to do such damage?

Playing combinations


Windies wicket-keeper batsman Andre Fletcher, renowned for his swashbuckling striking, will open alongside the Proteas veteran Davy Jacobs. Babar Azam is highly likely to take up the number 3 spot, with Sabbir Rahman, Nasir Hossain, Shuvgata Hom, and Mohammad Sharif comprising the middle order.

Rahman might go with three fast bowlers in Krishmar Santokie, Liam Plunkett, and local bowler Kamrul Rabbi. They have decent spinning options in Shuvgata Hom and Taijul Islam. Nasir Hossain is a canny off-spinner and any skipper would love to have him as a sixth bowler.


The destructive Evin Lewis will be accompanied by Jahrul Islam in the opening department. At number 3 and 4 will be Kumar Sangakkara and Shakib Al Hasan and their contribution will be pivotal. Mosadek Hossain, Mehidy Mahruf, and Kevon Cooper are the other batsmen in the middle order.

Mohammad Amir will be leading the bowling attack and in the fast bowling department, he will be accompanied by two youngsters Abu Hider and Noor Alam Saddam. Sunil Narine will lead the spin attack with Shakib Al Hasan and all-rounders in Mosaddek and Kevon Cooper.


3 – Dhaka Dynamites are three-time champions of the league in five editions

61 – Shakib Al Hasan is the highest wicket-taker in the league with 61 wickets.