BPL 2019-20: Match 26, Review- Tamim Iqbal, Asif Ali, Wahab Riaz halt Rajshahi Royals’ glory run

BPL 2019-20: Match 26, Review- Tamim Iqbal, Asif Ali, Wahab Riaz halt Rajshahi Royals’ glory run

Wahab finished with a spell of 3.4-1-8-5, including a triple-wicket maiden in his first over.

Wahab Riaz
Wahab Riaz. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The Rajshahi Royals were on a rampage, winning five out of their first six matches in the BPL 2019-20. However, Dhaka Platoon, the Royals’ opponent, weren’t intimidated. Mashrafe Mortaza’s men stomped out with intent and came out trumps by 74 runs at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium. After the victory, the Platoon levelled with the Royals and Khulna Tigers, all having 10 points.

Asif and Tamim rescue the Platoon

The Platoon didn’t make a great start as Andre Russell removed Anamul Haque cheaply. Then Shoaib Malik chipped in with Luis Reece’s wicket. Mahedi Hasan threatened with a 11-ball 21 before Ravi Bopara picked him up. Farhad Reza picked up Ariful Haque and Mashrafe Mortaza in the first two balls of his spell. In the 13th over, Dhaka had half their side back to the hut with the score at 84.

At the other end, Tamim Iqbal held his ground and he got an apt partner in Asif Ali. The latter came out firing on all cylinders and got to his fifty off 24 balls. The Pakistan batsman was severe on Reza and he stayed unbeaten on 55 with four fours and as many sixes. Asif put on an unbeaten 90-run stand with Tamim, who carried his bat, having scored 68 off 52 with four fours and three sixes.

Wahab destroys the Royals

The Royals got off to a flying start as the Liton Das and Afif Hossain (31) scored 39 in the first three overs. But the fourth over turned the match on its head. Wahab Riaz produced a triple wicket-maiden, dismissing Liton, Shoaib Malik and Alok Kapali off successive deliveries. Afif couldn’t survive the heat and gave his wicket away to Luis Reece. Asif Ali’s direct hit led to Ravi Bopara’s dismissal.

For the first time in the BPL, the Royals’ batting was being tested. Andre Russell started with a streak four before Hasan Mahmud found his outside edge. Wahab came back and got rid of Nahidul Islam in his second spell. By then the game was all over bar the shouting. The left-arm seamer eventually ended with a stupendous spell of 3.4-1-8-5. the second best in the history of the T20 tournament.

Brief Scores

Dhaka Platoon: 174/5 in 20 overs (Tamim Iqbal 68*, Asif Ali 55*; Farhad Reza 2/44)

Rajshahi Royals: 100 all out in 16.4 overs (Afif Hossain Dhrubo 31, Nahidul Islam 14; Wahab Riaz 5/8)

Dhaka Platoon win by 74 runs.