BPL 2019-20: Match 39, Review- Rangpur Rangers take down Dhaka Platoon to sign off positively

BPL 2019-20: Match 39, Review- Rangpur Rangers take down Dhaka Platoon to sign off positively

The Platoon's batting depth couldn't save the day for their team.

Shane Watson
Shane Watson. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Rangpur Rangers didn’t have the best of outings in the Bangabandhu BPL 2019-20. However, the team, led by Shane Watson, came out all guns blazing in their last league match. They took down Dhaka Platoon by 11 runs in Mirpur, Dhaka to end their journey on a high. For the Platoon, their last league game is of prime importance. They need a win to finish in the top two of the points table.

Gregory and Al-Amin revive the Rangers

The Rangers got off to a brisk start after Shane Watson smashed Mahedi Hasan for a four and a six. But in the very next over, Mashrafe Mortaza found Watson’s edge. Cameron Deport used his feet to Hasan only to get stumped. Mohammad Naim had a painful stay in the middle, scoring a 21-ball 17. From there on Lewis Gregory and Al-Amin (35) took the onus of bringing the Rangers back on track.

The duo put on 49 runs for the fourth wicket off 26 balls and set the platform for a breezy finish. Thisara Perera broke the stand after Gregory, who scored 46 off 32, mistimed one down the throat of long-on. Jahurul Islam (28) came out and played some delightful strokes. He put on 41 along with Al-Amin. In the last over, four wickets went down and the Rangers could manage 149 in 20 overs.

Platoon go down

The Platoon made a poor start as Al-Amin ran Anamul Haque out. Mahedi Hasan was staring to step on the gas after a slow start, but fell prey to Arafat Sunny. Mominul Haque scorched three fours and then perished to Taskin Ahmed. Thisara Perera became Gregory’s first victim. At the other end, Tamim Iqbal (34) tried to put his head down even as the home team kept losing frequent wickets.

To the Platoon’s dismay, Sunny got rid of the big fish. Asif Ali failed to up the ante, getting out to Taskin. Ariful Haque and Faheem Ashraf couldn’t make an impact either. Shadab Khan got a promotion in the lineup after his cameo last time. He managed 16 off 14 and was dismissed by pacer Junaid Khan. Mashrafe Mortaza churned out some lusty blows, but his efforts didn’t quite suffice.

Brief Scores

Rangpur Rangers: 149/9 in 20 overs (Lewis Gregory 46, Al-Amin 35; Thisara Perera 3/23)

Dhaka Platoon: (Tamim Iqbal 34, Mominul Haque 18; Junaid Khan 2/22)

Rangpur Rangers win by 11 runs.