Chetan Sharma selects his best XI of IPL 10

Chetan Sharma selects his best XI of IPL 10

Mahendra Singh Dhoni will be leading the side.

Chetan Sharma
Chetan Sharma of India. (Photo Source: Adrian Murrell/Allsport)

Former Indian all-rounder Chetan Sharma went with the trend and selected his best XI of this year’s IPL. David Warner has been selected to open the innings. There is little surprise in this aspect as the Sunrisers Hyderabad skipper was in tremendous form in the IPL. He is also the owner of the Orange Cap and has been handed the vice-captain’s responsibility of the team.

Current Indian opener Rohit Sharma is selected to open the innings with Warner. Sharma did not quite have a great IPL, but he can destroy any opponent on his day. Current Indian skipper Virat Kohli is the next in line. This selection might be a bit debatable, considering that Kohli was miles away from his usual form in this IPL. At number 4, Australia and Rising Pune Supergiant skipper, Steve Smith has been selected. Smith has played a few good knocks in the tournament and Chetan feels he is must-have.

Former Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni has been handed over keeping and captaincy responsibilities. Dhoni is one of the most successful captains ever, but considering his recent form, this decision might seem a bit debatable. But there is no scope of debate regarding Kieron Pollard’s selection. The Caribbean giant is spot-on in the field. With the bat, he has destroyed many teams and has given nightmares to many bowlers. The monster was in form this season as Mumbai lifted the trophy for the third time.

The most expensive player this year, Ben Stokes is an asset to any limited overs team. Like Pollard, he is exceptional in the field and destructive with the bat. He struck a magnificent match-winning ton this year. In addition, he has bowled brilliantly and kept the run flow under control. Sharma has selected the Purple Cap winner Bhuvaneshwar Kumar in his team, who is a great death-over bowler.

Speaking about death-over specialists, Jasprit Bumrah’s name comes into mind. Sharma has included him in his XI. The last pacer to complete the pace bowling unit is the Australian Nathan Coulter-Nile. NCN performed brilliantly for KKR this season as Trent Boult was demoted to the bench.

Coming to the spinners department, the first pick by Sharma is Sunil Narine. The ‘silent assassin’ has been exceptional with the bat as well this year, striking the fastest fifty of IPL 10. To complete his team, he has selected the young Afghan sensation, Rashid Khan. The Afghani spinner rocked the grand stage in his debut year and has found a place in Chetan Sharma’s XI.

Here is the best XI of IPL 10 selected by Chetan Sharma

Rohit Sharma, David Warner (VC), Virat Kohli, Steve Smith, MS Dhoni (WK, Captain), Kieron Pollard, Ben Stokes, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Jasprit Bumrah, Sunil Narine, Rashid Khan.