Commentator Adam Gilchrist apologises after mistakenly mentioning about passing away of Navdeep Saini's father

Commentator Adam Gilchrist apologises after mistakenly mentioning about passing away of Navdeep Saini’s father

Gilchrist's goof up was picked up quickly on social media.

Adam Gilchrist
Adam Gilchrist. (Photo Source: Twitter)

India marked their comeback into international cricket with the first of the three-match ODI series against Australia in Sydney on Friday. Australia skipper Aaron Finch won the toss and opted to bat first even as both the teams named their playing XIs on expected lines. However, soon after the match started, the former Australia cricketer and now the commentator Adam Gilchrist made a major goof up.

While behind the mic, the southpaw stated that Navdeep Saini, who is playing the first ODI, lost his father a few days back. He made a mistake as it was Mohammed Siraj’s father who breathed his last and the cricketer couldn’t go back for his last rites. Siraj has been picked in the Test side after his excellent performance in the domestic cricket last season and he also bowled well in the Indian Premier League (IPL).

Meanwhile, Twitter was quick to point out the goof up from Adam Gilchrist as the tweets flooded in no time telling him about his mistake. And the gentleman from Australia was quick to apologise for the same as well. He apologised to both the cricketers, Navdeep Saini and Mohammed Siraj. “Yes, I realize I was mistaken in my mention. Huge apologies for my error, to both @navdeepsaini96 and Mohammed Siraj,” the tweet read.

Likely debut for Mohammed Siraj?

Mohammed Siraj’s personal loss was a huge one for him and his family. He opted against flying back to India for the last rites of his father due to quarantine regulations. Moreover, he also wants to fulfil his father’s dream of winning the Test series in Australia. With the Test series commencing on December 17, it will be interesting to see if India will hand a debut to Siraj.

Their experienced player Ishant Sharma has already been ruled out of the contest despite recovering from the injury he sustained in the IPL. The pace bowler’s workload and match fitness is yet to be ascertained which is expected to be take some time. Siraj, in that case, might make his Test debut at some point during the four-match series.

Here are some of the tweets that pointed out Adam Gilchrist’s gaffe: