Commonwealth Games 2022: Here is what letter 'e' signifies at venue of India fixtures

The 'e' sign has been seen at the entrance, cycle stands and on food items, among many other places at the venue.

View : 888

2 Min Read

Edgbaston. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The Commonwealth Games 2022 will commence on July 28 in Birmingham, and the Women’s T20 internationals are set to feature in the event for the first time. Edgbaston will be the venue for India’s matches during the event. And it has been observed that the letter ‘e’ can be seen almost everywhere in the Edgbaston premises.

It is present at the entrance, cycle stands, on food items, and even the floodlights on the ground are designed in the shape of the letter. Even the staff members of Edgbaston have ‘e’ highlighted on their T-shirts. Here, ‘e’ signifies Edgbaston, which is one of the most popular cricket venues in the world with a capacity of close to 25,000 spectators.

Edgbaston has a great history and has hosted some memorable matches in international cricket. Brian Lara’s famous innings, scoring a world record 501* for Warwickshire against Durham came at this venue in 1994 and the final of the inaugural Women’s World Cup in 1973 also took place at Edgbaston, which England won against Australia.

The 2013 Champions Trophy final between England and India was also at this venue. India, led by Mahendra Singh Dhoni, went on to win by five runs. In 2005, Edgbaston saw one of the most iconic Ashes Test matches as England won by only two runs, defending a target of 282.

India’s star batter Virat Kohli scored his first Test hundred in England on this ground in 2018, scoring 149 in the first innings. Earlier this month, during the India tour of England, the visitors won the second T20I by 49 runs and took an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-match series. 

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) recently announced the India squad for the Commonwealth Games. The team will be led by Harmanpreet Kaur, and opening batter Smriti Mandhana will be the vice-captain. India will take on Australia on July 29 to get the competition underway. The other teams in India’s group are Pakistan and Barbados. The final will be played on August 7.

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store