Country-wise first ever man of the match in T20Is

Country-wise first ever man of the match in T20Is

Some players adopted the T20I format very early and brought laurels for their teams.

TAUNTON, ENGLAND - JUNE 08: Mohammad Nabi of Afghanistan bats during the Group Stage match of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 between Afghanistan and New Zealand at The County Ground on June 08, 2019 in Taunton, England. (Photo by Alex Davidson/Getty Images)
 Mohammad Nabi  (Photo by Alex Davidson/Getty Images)

The T20 format in cricket was born because of the reducing interest in ODIs and Tests. The organizers noted that there was a constant reduction in the number of spectators for Test matches. Generally, Tests last for five days and happens during the office hours for a majority of the fans.

The same problem existed with ODI cricket. The start time for ODI games was in the morning or in the afternoon. To ensure that the existing fans remain and the sport grows as well, the organizers launched T20 cricket. T20 matches usually happen in night and they last for only three-four hours.

During the match’s 40 overs, the fans get to witness more action, more drama, and even innovation. Many players have added new layers to their game to succeed in T20 cricket. In this article, we will look at the players who adopted to the T20 format very early and won the first Man of the Match award from their country.

First ever man of the match in T20Is

 South Africa – Graeme Smith 

Graeme Smith
Graeme Smith. (Photo by Duif du Toit/Gallo Images/Getty Images)

The South African cricket team has a great record in T20 international cricket. They have a win-loss record of 71-52 in the game’s shortest format. The Proteas played their first T20I match in October 2005. However, the South African cricket team could not win their first two T20I fixtures.

The New Zealand cricket team beat them by five wickets in their first T20I. A few months later, the Australian cricket team crushed them by 95 runs. However, in February 2006, South Africa avenged that loss against the Aussies. They beat the 2003 Cricket World Cup winners by two runs at The Wanderers.

Skipper Graeme Smith led his team from the front with a 58-ball 89. He opened the innings for South Africa and remained unbeaten. Smith smacked 11 fours and a six in his knock, guiding the Proteas to 201/4 in 20 overs. Australia managed 199/7 in the second innings.

Page 1 / 10