COVID-19 situation might force us to change India Test series schedule: CA chief

COVID-19 situation might force us to change India Test series schedule: CA chief

Cricket Australia recently released the schedule for the series but there may be changes.

Virat Kohli and Steve Smith
Virat Kohli and Steve Smith. (Photo Source: Getty Images)

Cricket Australia announced the schedule for the Border Gavaskar Trophy 2020-21. Amidst the coronavirus pandemic, CA seems to be quite sure that things will be fine to host India in the summer. Having announced the entire schedule for the cricketing summer, the CA chief executive Kevin Roberts clarified that the schedule can change depending on the travel restrictions imposed by different states.

Initially, it was reported that the series could take place in one or two venues. But, the schedule announced saw something different. In fact, the CA has kept the schedule in a way that there are no matches between October 18 and November 15. This is when the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup is supposed to be held.

Maybe we can use only one or two venues: CA Chief

In a media interaction, the chief executive of CA mentioned that if the situation is fine, only then the schedule will go ahead according to the plan. However, Roberts didn’t stay away from the idea of having the series in one venue if necessary.

“That (schedule) assumes that state borders are open to domestic travel. It may be that circumstances dictate that when the time comes maybe we can only use one or two venues, we really don’t know any of that yet,” he told reporters as quoted by on Friday. “There is a lot of variables based on whether we have four venues in four states or as little as one venue in one state. There are endless scenarios and possibilities.”

India is supposed to start their Test series in Brisbane on December 3. After this, the action will shift to Adelaide for the second Test starting on December 11. This match will be a day-night Test, which will be India’s first overseas pink-ball Test. After this, the traditional boxing day Test match and New Year’s Test will be played on Melbourne and Sydney respectively.

Apart from this, India is also scheduled to play three-match T20I series in October. Australia will also host India in three-match ODI series after the Test series. Afghanistan will tour Australia for a one-off day-night Test match in Perth. West Indies will play three-match T20I series in October. Zimbabwe might tour for three-match ODI series in August. New Zealand will also tour Australia for three ODIs and three T20Is.