CPL 2019: 5 veterans who can light up the tournament

CPL 2019: 5 veterans who can light up the tournament

The following names aren't spring chickens, but can be priceless with all the experience up their sleeves.

Dwayne Bravo
Dwayne Bravo of Trinbago Knight Riders. (Photo by Randy Brooks – CPL T20 via Getty Images)

The Caribbean Premier League (CPL) has been a witness to six riveting editions thus far. A number of big names, including youngsters and veterans, have weaved magic in the popular T20 extravaganza. The next edition of the ‘Biggest Party in Sport’ is all set to get underway on September 4. Trinbago Knight Riders, the defending champions, will face the St Kitts and Nevis Patriots in the opener.

Over the time period, like other T20 events, CPL has brushed aside the notion that the format is only for the Young Turks and not for players, nearing the end of their careers. Though the experienced ones aren’t spring chickens anymore, their presence and inputs have benefited a number of franchises. Amidst some exuberance of youth, the old hands in teams act as the guiding light.

Here are five veterans, who are expected to entertain one and all in CPL 2019  

1. Chris Gayle- Jamaica Tallawahs

Chris Gayle
Chris Gayle. (Photo by Ashley Allen – CPL T20 via Getty Images)

Back in 2016, it was known that Chris Gayle left the Jamaica Tallawahs and joined St Kitts and Nevis Patriots. Now after leading the Patriots for a couple of seasons in 2017 and 2018, the 39-year-old batter is back with the Tallawahs, who’s delighted to have him back.

The Tallawahs previously won the championship in 2013 and 2016 respectively and both times, Gayle was their skipper. He will be playing alongside the likes of Andre Russell, and the Jamaica batting already looks a power-packed one.

Gayle is only 192 runs away from becoming the first batsman with 13,000 T20 runs and he may well achieve the feet in the tournament. The southpaw was a part of the Windies’ squad for the World Cup and recently played for the Vancouver Knights in the Global T20 Canada.