CPL 2021: Saint Lucia Zouks renamed Saint Lucia Kings

CPL 2021 will be played between August 26 and September 15, with all the fixtures scheduled in St Kitts & Nevis.

View : 9.7K

2 Min Read

Saint Lucia Kings
Saint Lucia Kings. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Caribbean Premier League franchise Saint Lucia Zouks will now be known as Saint Lucia Kings. The franchise, on Monday (August 2), announced their new identity and a new team logo, which is consistent with the KPH Dream Cricket brand while still capturing the essence of Saint Lucia through the name and national colours of Saint Lucian Flag.

Speaking on the occasion, Satish Menon, CEO, Saint Lucia Kings said, “Saint Lucia Kings is more in line with the positioning that the KPH Dream Cricket brand has, and we believe that the time was right for us to merge the sister brand and its inherent values with the mother brand.”

The team, coached by Andy Flower and captained by Faf Du Plessis, will also feature Daren Sammy as the team’s assistant coach and mentor in this season of the CPL. Commenting on the new brand identity Daren Sammy, Assistant Coach and Mentor, Saint Lucia Kings said: “I love the logo and I love the new name. It’s a pleasure to be associated with the Kings Franchise and I truly hope that the name can inspire our players to play like the true Kings that we are.”

Barbados Tridents to become Barbados Royals

Earlier this week, IPL franchise Rajasthan Royals bought a majority stake in Barbados Tridents, which is set to be renamed as Barbados Royals. The Royals Sports Group are the third IPL franchise after KKR’s owners Red Chillies Entertainment bought the Trinbago Knight Riders in 2015, whereas Punkab Kings’ owner KPH Dream Cricket Pvt Ltd bought stake in Zouks in 2020.

“The idea of creating a global network behind the Royals brand is something that we are keen to do for many years, It was the opportunity too good to miss. The IPL is only on our screen for a short period of the annual calendar. Secondly, it gives our fans an opportunity to follow Royals teams across the world and in different locations. Thirdly, from a cricketing perspective to trial new things.” Manoj Badale, the owner of EM Sporting Holdings Ltd, stated earlier this week.

CPL 2021 will be played between August 26 and September 15, with all the fixtures scheduled in St Kitts & Nevis.

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store