Exclusive Article

WPL 2023: Rating captains of all five teams

Mumbai Indians won the inaugural season of the WPL after defeating Delhi Capitals in the summit clash

View : 915

5 Min Read

Sneh Rana, Meg Lanning and Smriti Mandhana
Sneh Rana, Meg Lanning and Smriti Mandhana. (Photo Source: Twitter/WPL)

The inaugural season of the Women’s Premier League (WPL) 2023 came to a fantastic conclusion after the Harmanpreet Kaur-led Mumbai Indians clinched the coveted WPL title as they defeated Delhi Capitals in the summit clash of the competition.

As the competition was a massive success for Mumbai Indians and Delhi Capitals, the same was arguably not the case for Gujarat Giants, UP Warriorz, and Royal Challengers Bangalore. Mumbai and Delhi took each other on in the final of the competition, whereas Gujarat, Royal Challengers, and Warriorz were eliminated from the group stages and the Eliminator. 

The captains from the various franchises, as always, had a huge role to play in their team's endeavours. While Harmanpreet Kaur and Meg Lanning enjoyed a dream run, Smriti Mandhana and Sneh Rana found themselves on the opposite end of the spectrum. Following the conclusion of the competition, let us analyse how all the captains fared throughout the tournament.

5. Sneh Rana (6/10) (Gujarat Giants)

Sneh Rana
Sneh Rana. (Photo Source: Jio Cinema)

Gujarat Giants had the worst start to the inaugural WPL season as skipper Beth Mooney got injured in the very first game of the tournament, which saw Sneh Rana take up the mantle in the Australian star’s absence. 

Mooney’s absence came to haunt Gujarat, as they lost the season opener to Mumbai Indians as things went off the rails from the very start. Newly appointed skipper Sneh Rana was unable to register a win in the team’s second game as well. They won their first game of the competition against Royal Challengers Bangalore and it was their third game.

Under Rana’s leadership, Gujarat Giants finished last on the WPL points table with four points in eight matches. The side only won two matches in the tournament as Rana struggled to propel the side into the playoffs following Mooney’s injury.   

Page1 / 5

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store