WPL 2024: Best starting playing XI of Mumbai Indians (MI) after mini auction

Check out the list of players who could be in Mumbai Indians' best starting XI for the upcoming Women's Premier League 2024.

View : 279

6 Min Read

Mumbai Indians
Mumbai Indians. (Photo Source: Twitter/WPL)

The 2024 WPL auction took place on December 9 in Mumbai and a total of 30 players were sold to the franchises at the event. The defending champions Mumbai Indians (MI) splurged INR 1.65 crore to sign up five players and form an 18-member squad.

Their costliest buy was Shabnam Ismail, who was acquired at a heavy amount of INR 1.2 crore. The South Africa veteran looked spectacular for Hobart Hurricanes in the 2023-24 edition of the Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL). Her outstanding performance in the WBBL helped her to pull off the lucrative contract. After witnessing MI’s purchases, it’s time to create Mumbai’s best-playing XI.  

Here is the best starting XI of MI after the WPL 2024 mini-auction:

1. Hayley Matthews

Hayley Matthews
Hayley Matthews. (Photo Source: Twitter/WPL)

Hayley Matthews played her part well for MI in the inaugural edition of the league and received the Player of the Tournament award. As an opener, she scored 271 runs in ten innings at a strike rate of 126.04 while with the ball, she claimed 16 wickets at an economy of 5.94 and ended up as the leading wicket-taker in the tournament.

The West Indies player exuded confidence with the ball in the recently concluded 2023-24 WBBL. She got 14 wickets in 14 matches at an economy of 7.79 and ended up as Melbourne Renegades’ joint-leading wicket-taker along with Georgia Wareham. Noting her fine performances, MI will want her to dominate the opponents again in the upcoming WPL installment. 

2. Yastika Bhatia (WK)

Yastika Bhatia
Yastika Bhatia. (Photo Source: WPL/ Twitter)

The 23-year-old Yastika Bhatia looked decent with her bat in the maiden WPL edition but the MI team management will want her to be more disciplined in the upcoming tournament. Her responsibility will be to support Hayley consistently with the bat and give a perfect start to the team. In the previous season, she scored 214 runs in 10 matches at a strike rate of 112.04.

3. Natalie Sciver-Brunt

Nat Sciver-Brunt
Nat Sciver-Brunt. (Photo Source: Twitter/WPL)

Natalie Sciver-Brunt played a vital role in MI’s scintillating title victory. She notched up 332 runs in ten matches at a magnificent strike rate of 140.08 and ended up as the second-leading run-getter in the competition. With the ball, she chipped in with ten wickets at an economy of 7.12. In the upcoming WPL season, MI supporters will expect her to do wonders again.

4. Harmanpreet Kaur (C) 

Harmanpreet Kaur
Harmanpreet Kaur (Photo Source; Twitter)

Harmanpreet Kaur led the side from the front and delivered the trophy to the team with her captaincy and batting prowess. She chalked up 281 runs in nine innings at a strike rate of 135.09 and ended up as the second-highest run-getter for her side. Kaur will endeavour to continue her excellent work again in 2024.

5. Amelia Kerr

Nat Sciver-Brunt and Amelia Kerr
Nat Sciver-Brunt and Amelia Kerr. (Photo Source: Twitter/WPL)

Amelia Kerr spearheaded MI’s spin-bowling unit confidently, picking up 15 wickets in ten games at an economy of 6.45. The New Zealand player did her job exceptionally as a batter as well, scoring 149 runs in seven innings at an impressive strike rate of 133.03. Recently, Kerr looked fine as an all-rounder for Brisbane Heat in the 2023-24 WBBL. Kerr’s remarkable form will bring cheers to the faces of MI fans who are expecting her to be at her best in the 2024 WPL.

6. Priyanka Bala 

Amanjot Kaur, Priyanka Bala
Amanjot Kaur, Priyanka Bala (Photo Source : Twitter)

Bengal player Priyanka Bala didn’t get a chance to play any matches in the 2023 WPL but if she gets a chance to wear MI jersey in 2024, her role will be to strengthen the team as a lower-middle-order batter.

7. Pooja Vastrakar

Pooja Vastrakar
Pooja Vastrakar. (Photo Source: Twitter/WPL)

Pooja Vastrakar made it to MI’s retention list for the 2024 WPL, despite struggling to be among the wickets. In the upcoming WPL season, she will have to utilise her international experience and deliver solid numbers to her side. In recent times, Vastrakar looked positive with the ball in the Asian Games Women’s Cricket Competition, 2023. In the mega continental event, she bagged five wickets in three matches and ended up as the joint-leading wicket-taker with Sri Lanka’s Udeshika Prabodhani and Inoshi Priyadharshani.    

8. Issy Wong

Issy Wong
Issy Wong. (Photo Source: Jio Cinema)

Issy Wong played an enormous role in Mumbai’s extraordinary campaign in the maiden WPL season. She grabbed 15 wickets in ten matches at an economy of 6.46. In the final at the Brabourne Stadium, she allied with Hayley Matthews and wreaked havoc on Delhi Capitals’ batting line-up, registering 3/42 figures in four overs.

9. Amanjot Kaur

Amanjot Kaur
Amanjot Kaur. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Amanjot Kaur got ten games from the MI team management in the 2023 WPL but she was completely ineffective with both bat and ball. Despite her underwhelming performance, MI retained her and now, she has a golden opportunity to prove herself in 2024.

10. Humaira Kazi

Humaira kazi
Humaira kazi. (Photo Source: Mumbai Indians)

Humaira Kazi played ten games for MI in 2023 but didn’t get a lot of chances to contribute much with both bat and ball. As a batter, she came out in the middle thrice but scored only eight runs. However, she will have to prepare herself mentally to deliver great numbers to her side in the future.

11. Saika Ishaque

Saika Ishaque
Saika Ishaque. (Photo Source: Twitter)

As an uncapped player, Saika Ishaque did a brilliant job for MI in the 2023 WPL. She clinched 15 wickets in 10 games at an economy of 7.00 and helped her team lift the coveted trophy. Ishaque will be expected to continue her fine form with the ball for MI in 2024 again.

Also check: Best starting playing XI of RCB

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store