Cricket Australia announce 14-man squad for New Zealand ODIs

Cricket Australia announce 14-man squad for New Zealand ODIs

Jhye Richardson's return adds a new dimension to Australia's bowling attack.

Australia. (Photo by Darrian Traynor/Getty Images)

Australia and New Zealand are currently busy with their ongoing assignments against South Africa and India respectively. Post that, New Zealand will fly to Australia to play three ODIs and an equal number of T20Is. For the unversed, New Zealand already played three-match Test series in Australia a couple of months ago and the hosts came through with flying colours by inflicting a 3-0 whitewash on the visitors.

Australia lock horns with South Africa in the third and final T20I in Cape Town later on Wednesday before playing the first match of the three-match ODI series against the Proteas on February 29, Saturday. On the other end of the spectrum, New Zealand will play their second and last Test match of the home tour against India that starts on February 29 at Hagley Oval in Christchurch.

Australia announce squad for New Zealand ODIs

Meanwhile, Cricket Australia have announced the 14-man squad for the upcoming ODI series against New Zealand. The first ODI is scheduled to be played at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) on March 13, Friday. The second match will be played at the same venue on March 15, Sunday. The third and final ODI will be played on March 20, Friday at Blundstone Arena.

Fast bowler Jhye Richardson who is coming back from a shoulder injury will stay with the Australia camp for the upcoming ODIs against South Africa. The pacer could make his first-ever international appearance in 11 months this weekend with the first match to be played in Paarl on Saturday. But, the paceman has missed selection in Australia’s ODI squad for the three-match home series against New Zealand.

Jhye Richardson’s return adds a new dimension to Australia’s bowling attack that comprises fast bowlers of the highest quality. It is worth mentioning here that Jhye Richardson earned his place in the squad after doing all the hard work to get back to his best after a serious shoulder injury.

Australia’s 14-man squad for three-match ODI series against New Zealand

Aaron Finch (C), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, D’Arcy Short, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa.