BCB shifts India ODI from Dhaka amid protest concerns

The ODI series will begin on December 4 in Dhaka.

India vs New Zealand
India vs New Zealand. (Photo Source: Kerry Marshall/Getty Images)

View : 1.8K

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has shifted the upcoming third ODI against India from Dhaka to Chittagong in order to avoid a possible disruption that a rally hosted by Bangladesh National Party (BNP) on the same day may cause. Thousands of people are expected to hit the streets of Dhaka on the day and thus, the BCB management changed the venue to avoid any chaos.

The Men in Blue will travel to Bangladesh for the first time in seven years and will play a three-match ODI and a two-match Test series. Dhaka will be hosting the first two ODIs of the series while the third match of the series will now be played in Chittagong, where the first Test will take place.

“Chittagong was originally scheduled to host one Test. We felt there should be an ODI at the venue too,” Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) operations chief Jalal Yunus told AFP on Wednesday, November 23.

When Jalal was questioned whether the last-minute change is a result of the protest or not, he refused to answer the question. However, as per reports, that’s the only reason behind the decision.

The senior boys of the Indian team will return for Bangladesh series

The likes of captain Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, and Virat Kohli will be returning to the Indian squad in the series against Bangladesh. After failing to clinch the T20 World Cup in Australia, the team will be gunning to do well and most importantly, build a formidable side for next year's ODI World Cup.

Also, on an interesting note, the likes of Rajat Patidar, Yash Dayal and Rahul Tripathi have been called up for the ODI series. Whether they will get an opportunity or not remains to be seen.

India Test squad: Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul (vc), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), KS Bharat (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav

India ODI squad: Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul (vc), Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Rajat Patidar, Shreyas Iyer, Rahul Tripathi, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Deepak Chahar, Yash Dayal