BCCI announces India's squad for T20I series against West Indies; Yashasvi jaiswal, Tilak Varma earn maiden call ups

India will be facing the West Indies in their backyard for five T20I matches.

View : 27.3K

2 Min Read

India team WTC
India team WTC. (Photo Source: BCCI)

The BCCI (Board of Control for Cricket in India) recently came forward to announce their T20I squad for the upcoming West Indies tour. It is worth noting that both sides will face each other in a multi-format series that is scheduled to begin on July 12. 

The series will kick off with two Test matches, followed by three ODIs, and five T20I matches, respectively. As the BCCI announced the T20I squad for the series, it was established that Hardik Pandya would be leading the side, with Suryakumar Yadav as his deputy. Furthermore, Yashasvi Jaiswal and Tilak Varma are among many others, featured in the squad as well.

Regarding the bowling department, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar, Umran Malik and Avesh Khan will be the pace battery while the trio of Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal and Ravi Bishnoi will lead the spin department. Speaking of fresh faces for team India, Jaiswal and Varma have been bestowed with the national call-up courtesy of their good showing in this year's Indian Premier League (IPL). The left-hander was in sublime touch for the Rajasthan Royals, while Varma showed his batting fireworks for the Mumbai Indians. Notably, the former also travelled with the national team for the World Test Championship (WTC) 2023 final practice.

Part of T20I series will be held in the United States of America

Coming to the scheduled T20I series against the West Indies, the first game will be played at the Brian Lara Academy in Trinidad, while the next two games will be played in Guyana. The Providence Stadium will be the venue for the game in the region.

Post the three T20Is, the last two matches of the shortest format duel will be played in Florida in the USA. The Central Broward Regional Park Stadium will be the host of the last two T20I games which will conclude the series. 

India’s T20I squad: Ishan Kishan (wk), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav (VC), Sanju Samson (wk), Hardik Pandya (C), Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar.

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store