CPL 2023: Everything you need to know about the upcoming season

The league will culminate with the summit clash, which will be played at the Providence Stadium on Monday, September 25.

View : 12.3K

116 Min Read

Caribbean Premier League Final
Caribbean Premier League Final. (Photo Source: Ashley Allen - CPL T20/CPL T20 via Getty Images)

The 11th edition of the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) is all set to kickstart on Thursday, 17 August, as Saint Lucia Kings will go head-to-head against the defending champions, Jamaica Tallawahs, at the Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium. Notably, Jamaica clinched the coveted title in the 2022 season after emerging victorious against Barbados Royals in the summit clash.

The league will feature six teams namely- Barbados Royals, Guyana Amazon Warriors, St Kitts & Nevis Patriots, St Lucia Kings, Trinbago Knight Riders, and Jamaica Tallawahs. All teams will play 30 matches in the group stage followed by four playoff fixtures which include - Qualifier 1, Eliminator and Qualifier 2, before progressing to the final. 

One of the intriguing elements of the forthcoming season is the severe penalties with regard to combating slow over-rates. A red card-like system will be included which essentially means that a player will be removed if the fielding side is behind schedule at the start of the 20th over of an innings. Notably, the penalties for slow over rates will kick in from the 18th over.

If behind the allocated time at the start of the 18th over, one additional player must enter the fielding circle (for a total of 5), if still behind the rate at the start of the 19th over, two additional fielders must enter the fielding circle (for a total of 6). However, if the same thing persists by the start of the 20th over, umpires will bring out the red card and the fielding team will lose a player (decided by the captain).

The league will culminate with the summit clash, which will be played at the Providence Stadium on Monday, September 25. All the participating teams will be gunning to push through and win the prestigious trophy in the 2023 season.

CPL 2023: Full Squads

Jamaica Tallawahs

Imad Wasim, Brandon King, Fabian Allen, Mohammad Amir, Naveen Ul Haq, Chris Green, Jermaine Blackwood, Shamarh Brooks, Hayden Walsh, Raymon Reifer, Amir Jangoo, Steven Taylor, Shamar Springer, Nicholson Gordon, Kirk Mckenzie, Joshua James

Barbados Royals

Rovman Powell, Jason Holder, Kyle Mayers, Maheesh Theekshana, Rassie Van Der Dussen, Alick Athanaze, Obed Mccoy, Kevin Wickham, Roelof Van Der Merwe, Akeem Jordan, Rahkeem Cornwal, Donovan Ferreira, Justin Greaves, Joshua Bishop, Nyeem Young, Rivaldo Clarke, Ramon Simmonds, Laurie Evans, Qais Ahmad

Guyana Amazon Warriors

Imran Tahir, Shimron Hetmyer, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Odean Smith, Romario Shepherd, Azam Khan, Shai Hope, Gudakesh Motie, Dwaine Pretorius, Kevin Sinclair, Keemo Paul, Chandrapaul Hemraj, Ronsford Beaton, Kevlon Anderson, Matthew Nandu, Junior Sinclair

St Kitts & Nevis Patriots

Evin Lewis, Andre Fletcher, Sherfane Rutherford, Dominic Drakes, Sheldon Cottrell, George Linde, Yannick Cariah, Oshane Thomas, Corbin Bosch, Dewald Brevis, Jyd Goolie, Izharulhaq Naveed, Kofi James, Joshua Da Silva, Ashmead Nedd, Johann Layne

Trinbago Knight Riders

Kieron Pollard, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Nicholas Pooran, Rilee Rossouw, Akeal Hosein, Dwayne Bravo, Martin Guptill, Noor Ahmad, Matheesha Pathirana, Jayden Seales, Mark Deyal, Chadwick Walton, Terrence Hinds, Kadeem Alleyne, Jaden Carmichael

St Lucia Kings

Faf Du Plessis, Johnson Charles, Dasun Shanaka, Alzarri Joseph, Roston Chase, Jair Mcallister, Sikandar Raza, Peter Hatzoglou, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Roshon Primus, Jeavor Royal, Shadrack Descartes, Khary Pierre, Leonardo Julien, Matthew Forde, Kimani Melius, Mckenny Clarke

CPL 2023 Broadcast Details

CountryLive BroadcastLive Streaming

Star Sports Network

FanCode app and website

CPL 2023 Schedule 

Match No.MatchDay and Date VenueTime (IST)
1.Saint Lucia Kings vs. Jamaica TallawahsThursday, 17 August Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium4:30 am
2.Saint Lucia Kings vs. Barbados RoyalsFriday, 18 August Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium4:30 am
3.Trinbago Knight Riders Vs St KittsSaturday, 19 AugustDaren Sammy National Cricket Stadium7:30 am
4.Saint Lucia Kings vs. Guyana Amazon WarriorsSunday, 20 AugustDaren Sammy National Cricket Stadium4:30 am
5.Jamaica Tallawahs vs. Barbados RoyalsSunday, 20 AugustDaren Sammy National Cricket Stadium7:30 am
6.Saint Lucia Kings vs. St Kitts and Nevis PatriotsMonday, 21 AugustDaren Sammy National Cricket Stadium4:30 am
7.St Kitts and Nevis Patriots vs. Jamaica TallawahsThursday, 24 AugustWarner Park4:30 am
8.St Kitts and Nevis Patriots vs. Guyana Amazon WarriorsFriday, 25 AugustWarner Park4:30 am
9.Saint Lucia Kings Vs Trinbago Knight RidersSaturday, 26 AugustWarner Park7:30 am
10.St Kitts and Nevis Patriots vs. Barbados RoyalsSunday, 27 AugustWarner Park4:30 am
11.Jamaica Tallawahs vs. Guyana Amazon WarriorsSunday, 27 AugustWarner Park7:30 am
12.St Kitts and Nevis Patriots vs. Trinbago Knight RidersMonday, 28 AugustWarner Park4:30 am
13.Barbados Royals Vs Trinbago Knight RidersThursday, 31 AugustKensington Oval4:30 am
14.Barbados Royals vs. Jamaica TallawahsFriday, 1 SeptemberKensington Oval4:30 am
15.Guyana Amazon Warriors Vs St Kitts and Nevis PatriotsSaturday, 2 SeptemberKensington Oval7:30 am
16.Barbados Royals Vs Saint Lucia KingsSunday, 3 SeptemberKensington Oval5:30 am
17.Jamaica Tallawahs vs. Trinbago Knight RidersSunday, 3 SeptemberKensington Oval7:30 am
18.Barbados Royals Vs. St Kitts and Nevis PatriotsMonday, 4 SeptemberKensington Oval5:30 am
19.Trinbago Knight Riders Vs Guyana Amazon WarriorsWednesday, 6 SeptemberQueen's Park Oval4:30 am
20.Trinbago Knight Riders vs. Barbados RoyalsThursday, 7 SeptemberQueen's Park Oval4:30 am
21.St Kitts and Nevis Patriots vs. Saint Lucia KingsSaturday, 9 SeptemberBrian Lara Stadium7:30 am
22.Trinbago Knight Riders vs. Jamaica TallawahsSunday, 10 SeptemberBrian Lara Stadium5:30 am
23.Barbados Royals Vs Guyana Amazon WarriorsSunday, 10 SeptemberBrian Lara Stadium7:30 am
24.Trinbago Knight Riders Vs Saint Lucia KingsMonday, 11 SeptemberBrian Lara Stadium5:30 am
25.Guyana Amazon Warriors vs. Jamaica TallawahsThursday, 14 SeptemberProvidence Stadium4:30 am
26.Guyana Amazon Warriors Vs Saint Lucia KingsFriday, 15 SeptemberProvidence Stadium4:30 am
27.Jamaica Tallawahs vs. St Kitts and Nevis PatriotsSaturday, 16 SeptemberProvidence Stadium7:30 am
28.Guyana Amazon Warriors Vs Trinbago Knight RidersSunday, 17 SeptemberProvidence Stadium4:30 am
29.Jamaica Tallawahs vs. Saint Lucia KingsSunday, 17 SeptemberProvidence Stadium7:30 am
30.Guyana Amazon Warriors vs. Barbados RoyalsMonday: 18 SeptemberProvidence Stadium4:30 am
31.Qualifier 1Wednesday, September 20Providence Stadium4:30 am
32.EliminatorWednesday, September 20Providence Stadium4:30 am
33.Qualifier 2Saturday, September 23Providence Stadium4:30 am
34.FinalMonday, September 25Providence Stadium4:30 am

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store