ECB Development squad will take on Sri Lanka Women

England Women's white-ball series against Sri Lanka will get underway later in August.

View : 210

2 Min Read

ECB Logo.
ECB Logo. (Photo Source: Twitter/@ECB_cricket)

The squad of the ECB (English and Wales Cricket Board) Development XI against Sri Lanka Women has been announced. The match is scheduled to be contested at the Arundel Castle Cricket Club on Monday, August 28. 

Grace Scrivens of the Sunrisers will lead the 12-player squad, which includes a huge number of players who were involved in the England Women U19 World Cup programme in 2023. The one-off T20 warm-up match will serve as a rehearsal for Sri Lanka's upcoming T20I and ODI series against Heather Knight-led England Women, as well as valuable match experience for the young ECB development squad.

Richard Bedbrook, England Women's Head of Performance Pathways, stated that many players will not be available for the one-off game as they are taking part in The Hundred Women's competition. He added that the match would provide the youngsters with an opportunity to face an experienced Lankan team.

“The clash with The Hundred finals stages means a number of players aren’t available for selection for this one-off fixture and, as such, steering the team towards an ECB Development XI, rather than an England pathway team, allows us more flexibility with selection," Bedbrook said.

“We have looked to involve a group of younger players who are all progressing within their regional teams and this game provides all selected with an opportunity to experience playing against senior international opposition," he further stated as per

Sri Lanka Women will play practice game ahead of ODI series against England

The England Women's white-ball series against Sri Lanka will get underway later in August. Fast bowler Mahika Gaur and wicketkeeper-batter, Bess Heath, have received their maiden senior call-ups. They have been named in both groups after playing for England A against Australia A earlier this year.

ECB Development Squad:

Eva Gray (Sunrisers), Hannah Hardwick (Central Sparks), Liberty Heap (Thunder), Niamh Holland (Western Storm), Charlotte Lambert (South East Stars), Ryana MacDonald-Gay (South East Stars), Charis Pavely (Central Sparks), Davina Perrin (Central Sparks), Lizzie Scott (Northern Diamonds), Grace Scrivens (captain; Sunrisers), Jemima Spence (South East Stars), Alexa Stonehouse (South East Stars)

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store