Glenn Maxwell, Mitch Marsh return as Australia announce squad for ODI series against India

Both Marsh and Maxwell had been out of the international setup due to injuries.

View : 733

2 Min Read

Australia. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Mitch Marsh and Glenn Maxwell are all set to make their comeback to international cricket as they will be a part of the ODI series which is scheduled to take place next month in India. Cricket Australia announced a 16-member squad for the three-match ODI series against India, which will help them get acquainted with the Indian conditions in preparations for the World Cup later this year in India.

Alongside the two all-rounders, pacer Jhye Richardson will also be back on the national side. The ongoing Test series has so far witnessed three players return home due to various reasons. While David Warner was ruled out of the series midway through the second Test due to an injury, Ashton Agar returned home to play domestic cricket for Western Australia.

Meanwhile, Pat Cummins, the Australian skipper, flew back home due to personal reasons but will be back before the commencement of the third Test next week. Marsh and Maxwell have both missed a lot of time due to surgeries they underwent over the home summer, but they will play on the three-match tour that will take place after the current Test campaign, with games set to take place in Mumbai, Vizag, and Chennai.

While Maxwell has been representing Victoria at the Sheffield Sheild, Marsh is likely to make his appearance for Western Australia in the Marsh One-Day Cup over the weekend and the all-rounder duo will play a vital role in Australia’s ODI campaign during the World Cup scheduled in October-November this year.

Richardson is also returning to the squad after being side-lined from international cricket due to injury. He missed the BBL finals due to a hamstring injury, and he hasn't played since the beginning of January. The 26-year-old has not competed for his country ever since the conclusion of Australia’s white-ball tour of Sri Lanka last year. Josh Hazlewood has been side-lined for the ODI series after suffering an Achilles injury that forced him to leave the Test series early.

Australia ODI squad: Pat Cummins (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS App Store and Google Play Store

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store