'Ravi Ashwin told me that I could do it and win CPL' - Imran Tahir thanks India spinner after Guyana Amazon Warriors' title win

Guyana Amazon Warriors defeated Trinbago Knight Riders by nine wickets in the CPL 2023 final.

View : 11.4K

2 Min Read

CPL 2023.
CPL 2023. (Photo Source: X(Twitter/CPL)

Veteran spinner Imran Tahir reckoned that Ravi Ashwin had previously told him that he would win the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) in 2023. Guyana Amazon Warriors (GUY)-led by Tahir, clinched their maiden title, after a nine-wicket win over Trinbago Knight Riders (TKR) at the Providence Stadium in Guyana on September 24.

Tahir thanked the veteran Indian off-spinner for his unwavering confidence in his captaincy skill. The 44-year-old also stated that he was mocked by many after being appointed as Warriors' captain

"Many thanks to Ravi Ashwin. Before the start of the season, he told me that I could do it and win the CPL. Many people made jokes when I was made captain," Tahir said after the triumph as quoted by India Today.

GAW beat TKR by nine wickets to clinch first-ever CPL title

Speaking of the game, Guyana Amazon Warriors won the toss and opted to bowl first. Courtesy of a disciplined performance, the Warriors managed to bowl out Trinbago Knight Riders for a paltry score of 94 runs. Dwaine Pretorius was the key bowler for the winners, picking four wickets for 26 runs, and subsequently won the Player of the Match.

Imran Tahir and Gudakesh Motie produced valuable economic spells, finishing with figures of 2/8 and 2/7, respectively. Apart from them, Romario Shepherd and Ronsford Beaton also picked up one wicket each. Keacy Carty top-scored for the Kieron Pollard-led side, scoring 38 off 45 deliveries, including two boundaries and one maximum.

Amazon Warriors got off to a flying start in front of a home crowd. Despite losing the wicket of opener Keemo Paul (11) early, they managed to chase down the target in 14 overs. Saim Ayub and Shai Hope spearheaded the innings of Tahir's men, scoring 52* and 32* runs, respectively.

Hope emerged as the leading run-scorer of the tournament, with 481 runs from 13 games at an average of 53.44 and a strike rate of 140.23. He has scored a century and four fifties in the competition. Warriors' Ayub is the second top-scorer, amassing 478 runs in 13 games. Meanwhile, Pretorius finished as league's highest wicket-taker with 20 wickets to his name at an excellent economy rate of 7.10.

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store