IND vs AUS: David Warner ruled out of ongoing 2nd Test due to concussion

Matt Renshaw has been named as Warner's replacement in Australia's playing XI.

View : 1.6K

2 Min Read

David Warner
David Warner. (Photo Source: Darrian Traynor/Getty Images)

In a massive setback for Australia, opening batter David Warner has been ruled out of the ongoing second Test of the Border Gavaskar Trophy against India in Delhi due to concussion. Matt Renshaw has been named Warner's replacement in Australia's playing combination.

In the second Test, which commenced on February 17, Friday, at the Arun Jaitley Stadium, Warner was hit on the helmet while facing Indian pacer Mohammed Siraj's delivery. He then continued to play but was soon dismissed and walked back to the dugout. After India dismissed Australia for 263 runs on the first day and started off with their batting innings, Warner did not join his team on the field.

Warner failed to impress with the bat in the second Test as his nightmare India tour continued. In the first Test too, he could manage to accumulate only 11 runs in two innings, and was dismissed for a 44-ball 15 on the first day of the ongoing Delhi Test. 

Warner to undergo assessment ahead of third Test

Warner received extensive care from the Australia's team doctor and physiotherapist for the elbow injury, but oddly, he didn't get checked for a concussion or have his helmet altered. The team doctor checked on Warner after the 10th over when he changed his gloves, but instead of thoroughly inspecting Warner or the helmet, the doctor returned to the dugout.

He was said to not be feeling "100 percent" at the time, and after additional evaluation that evening, he failed a concussion test and was thus, forced to withdraw from the game.

"Warner will now follow the graduated return to sport protocols ahead of the third Test in Indore in line with Cricket Australia guidelines," a statement by Cricket Australia read.

Renshaw will bat as the opener in the second innings, however, ICC match official Andy Pycroft has clarified that Renshaw is not permitted to bowl in the game in lieu of him being the replacement of Warner. Renshaw participated in the first Test in Nagpur but was benched, after the team lost by an innings, for the second game to make room for Travis Head.

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS App Store and Google Play Store 

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store