India vs South Africa 2022: Where to Watch, Schedule, Squads, and All you need to know

The South Africa tour of India will begin with a three-match T20I series starting September 28.

View : 2.7K

6 Min Read

Team India
Team India (Photo Source: Twitter/BCCI)

After a successful T20I series against Australia, India will now be hosting South Africa for a three-match T20I series, followed by as many ODIs. The Men in Blue are in great form as they very recently clinched a series win against the reigning world champions Australia in the 20-over format. The Proteas had last toured India in June, where the series ended in a 2-2 draw after the decider was washed out.

South Africa has also been in good form recently, as they’ve won four consecutive matches, of the last five T20I games that they have played. They bagged a 2-0 win against Ireland in August after defeating England by 2-1 in July. This will also be the third time that the two teams will face each other in the ongoing calendar year.

While South Africa has announced the squad for both the T20Is and the ODIs, India is yet to announce the ODI squad. As for the T20Is, the Indian team will be led by Rohit Sharma, whereas Temba Bavuma will be in charge of the Proteas. With the T20 World Cup 2022 approaching, both teams would look to give in their best.

When the two teams locked horns in June, India was without the services of senior players Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, and Jasprit Bumrah among others. But now that they’re back in the side and in good form too, the upcoming contest will be even more intriguing. The two in-form teams will be going up against each other on September 28 for the first of the three T20Is.

Here’s all you need to know about the South Africa tour of India

T20I Squads

India: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Mohd. Shami, Harshal Patel, Deepak Chahar, Jasprit Bumrah.

South Africa: Temba Bavuma (C), Quinton De Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs, Bjorn Fortuin, Marco Jansen, Andile Phehlukwayo

ODI Squads

India: TBA

South Africa: Temba Bavuma (captain), Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Janneman Malan, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi

South Africa tour of India Schedule


Date and Day

Time (IST)


1st T20I

September 28, Wednesday

7:00 PM

Greenfield International Stadium, Thiruvananthapuram

2nd T20I

October 02, Sunday

7:00 PM

Barsapara Cricket Stadium, Guwahati

3rd T20I

October 04, Tuesday

7:00 PM

Holkar Cricket Stadium, Indore

1st ODI

October 06, Thursday

1:30 PM

Ekana Cricket Stadium, Lucknow

2nd ODI

October 09, Sunday

1:30 PM

JSCA International Stadium Complex, Ranchi

3rd ODI

October 11, Tuesday

1:30 PM

Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi

Broadcast Details

TV – Star Sports

Live Streaming – Disney+Hotstar



Get every cricket updates! Follow us on:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store