IPL 2023: Delhi Capitals retained Players, released players, & Purse Remaining Ahead of Mini Auction

Rishabh Pant will continue to lead the side in IPL 2023.

Delhi Capitals
Delhi Capitals. (Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)
Chaitanya Prakash

Jr. Staff Writer

View : 5.2K

26 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

Delhi Capitals endured another lackluster outing in the IPL last year as they were knocked out of the playoffs race by the bottom-placed Mumbai Indians in a do-or-die clash. The Delhi side had qualified for the playoffs in the previous three editions but stumbled under the new leadership of Rishabh Pant, who left a lot to be desired.

Delhi Capitals made a host of changes to their squad in the lead-up to the tournament last year with the release of former skipper Shreyas Iyer being the most notable change. Rishabh Pant took over the helm and started off really well before fading at the business end of the tournament.

The capital side released a couple of notable players in Shardul Thakur and Tim Seifert, with the former switching to the purple of Kolkata Knight Riders. The release of Seifert was a bit puzzling as he was one of the backup keepers to Rishabh Pant along with KS Bharat, who was also released ahead of the IPL auction next month.

Delhi's squad seems to be more reliant on their power-packed batters but will like to grab a couple of notable bowling stars in the mini-auction in December. They have traded in Aman Khan on deadline day and raised a significant purse value of INR 19.45 crore. They will look to make some major signings next month in search of a maiden title in 2023 under the guidance of the mercurial former Australian skipper Ricky Ponting, who is backing Rishabh Pant for success next term.

Delhi Capitals Released Players List

Player Role
Shardul Thakur Bowler
Tim Seifert Batsman/Wicket-keeper
Ashwin Hebbar All-Rounder
KS Bharat Batsman/Wicket-keeper
Mandeep Singh Batsman

Delhi Capitals Retained Players List

Player Role
Rishabh Pant Batsman/Wicket-keeper
Axar Patel All-Rounder
Prithvi Shaw Batsman
Anrich Nortje Bowler
David Warner Batsman
Mitchell Marsh All-Rounder
Sarfaraz Khan Batsman
Kamlesh Nagarkoti Bowler
Mustafizur Rahman Bowler
Kuldeep Yadav Bowler
Khaleel Ahmed Bowler
Chetan Sakariya Bowler
Lalit Yadav All-Rounder
Ripal Patel All-Rounder
Yash Dhull Batsman
Rovman Powell Batsman
Pravin Dubey Bowler
Lungi Ngidi Bowler
Vicky Ostwal All-Rounder
Aman Khan All-Rounder

Delhi Capitals Purse Remaining

INR 19.45 crore