IPL 2024: Ajinkya Rahane's jaw-dropping catch ends David Miller's innings during CSK vs GT clash

Ajinkya Rahane dived at deep mid-wicket to dismiss David Miller for 21 (16) during the CSK vs GT clash.

View : 492

2 Min Read

Rahane Catch
Rahane Catch ( Photo source : IPL )

Defending Champions Chennai Super Kings (CSK) continued their victory juggernaut in the Indian Premier League 2024 (IPL 2024) with a 63-run win over Gujarat Titans (GT) in Match 7 on Tuesday, March 26 at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai. Defending a big total of 206, CSK bowlers kept the pressure on GT throughout the innings by picking up wickets at regular intervals and didn’t let them get ahead in the game.

Apart from batting and bowling, the Ruturaj Gaikwad-led side shone in the field as well taking some brilliant catches. One of those came in the 12th over of the innings as Ajinkya Rahane took a mind-boggling diving catch to dismiss the dangerous David Miller. On the fifth ball of the 12th over, Miller flicked a full delivery from Tushar Deshpande towards deep mid-wicket.

Also Read: IPL 2024: Rahane's boundary rope brilliance sends Kohli back to the hut

The ball was travelling in the air and Ajinkya Rahane showed brilliant presence of mind to dive at the right moment to complete a stunning catch. As a result, Miller had to walk back to the pavilion for 21 (16) leaving GT on 96/4 after 11.5 overs.

Watch Ajinkya Rahane's catch here:

Earlier, MS Dhoni also made his fans nostalgic with a magnificent diving catch behind the stumps. The incident took place in the eighth over of the second innings as Daryl Mitchell made Vijay Shankar edge one to the wicketkeeper on the third ball. Seeing the ball coming towards him, Dhoni quickly moved to his right and completed a spectacular diving catch leaving everyone awestruck.

Shivam Dube, Rachin Ravindra, Ruturaj Gaikwad starred with the bat for CSK

Courtesy of combined efforts from CSK bowlers and fielders, Gujarat were restricted to just 143/8 in their allotted 20 overs. Tushar Deshpande (2/21), Mustafizur Rahman (2/30) and Deepak Chahar (2/28) picked up two wickets each for CSK.

Also Read: CSK vs GT: MS Dhoni goes horizontal in air to dismiss Vijay Shankar caught behind

Earlier in the day, Rachin Ravindra (46 off 20), Ruturaj Gaikwad (46 off 36) and Shivam Dube (51 off 23) starred with the bat to help CSK post a massive total of 206/6 in 20 overs. Meanwhile, following their second consecutive win of the season, the Ruturaj Gaikwad-led side is ranked at the top of the points table with four two wins from two games having four points to their name.

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store