IPL 2024: Kumar Sangakkara puts his opinion on Sanju Samson's controversial dismissal against DC

The recent clash between DC and RR in the IPL 2024 witnessed a major umpiring controversy surrounding the dismissal of Sanju Samson.

View : 3.5K

2 Min Read

Sanju Samson
Sanju Samson. (Photo Source: Jio Cinema)

The recent clash at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in New Delhi between Delhi Capitals (DC) and Rajasthan Royals (RR) in the ongoing IPL 2024 witnessed a major umpiring controversy surrounding the dismissal of RR captain Sanju Samson.

Chasing 222 for victory, Samson looked unstoppable, smashing 86 runs off just 46 balls to put RR back in the hunt. However, his innings were cut short due to a controversial decision.

In the 16th over, Samson played a lofted shot off Mukesh Kumar's bowling, and the RR captain smashed the ball toward long-off, where DC fielder Shai Hope collected the catch close to the boundary rope. After reviewing replays, the on-field umpires referred it to the third umpire who ruled that Hope had not grounded any part of his feet on or over the rope, declaring Samson out.

Both Samson and the RR camp were upset about the decision. Samson initially walked off but then turned around to discuss with the umpires. The DC owners in the dugout were also gesturing for Samson to leave the field. Heated exchanges followed before, but Samson eventually departed.

Also read: Sanju Samson fined 30 percent match fees for breaching Code of Conduct

It's a difficult one for the third umpire to judge: Kumar Sangakkara

The Royals' head coach and Director of Cricket, Kumar Sangakkara, spoke up over the judgment but ultimately accepted the result.

"It depends on, you know, the replays and angles, and sometimes you think the foot's touched. But it's a difficult one for the third umpire to judge. The game was at a crucial stage, so that happens in cricket. [We've got] different perspectives on it but you know at the end of the day you got to stand by that decision of the third umpire [is what] the umpires did. If we have any other opinion on it, we'll share it with the umpires and sort it out," said Sangakkara as quoted by Cricbuzz.

Also read: Navjot Singh Sidhu gives his take on Sanju Samson’s controversial dismissal against DC

In contrast, DC assistant coach Pravin Amre backed Hope, "In (the) IPL, some momentums are very crucial. This was a deciding moment in our game. I think Sanju was batting so well. And we have to give credit to Hope to judge that catch, to be very honest. And umpires are there, there's also so much technology. It was given out by the third umpire. Umpire's decision is the final decision and I will give credit to Hope because it wasn't an easy catch," he said.

After Samson's dismissal, the game turned towards the hosts, as they restricted the Rajasthan-based franchise for 201/8 and won the game by 20 runs. Kuldeep Yadav was awarded the Player of the Match award for his spell of 2/25. 

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store