'It's a law, a batter should know his business' - Ravi Shastri clarifies stance on non-striker run-outs

"A batsman has no business to be wandering out of his crease before the ball is bowled," said Shastri.

View : 657

2 Min Read

Ravi Shastri
Ravi Shastri. (Photo Source: Visionhaus/Getty Images)

Former Indian cricketer and head coach Ravi Shastri has made his stand clear on the non-striker run-out debate. The veteran said that he will tell his players to inflict the dismissal if the batter is found outside the crease at the non-striker's end.

Ever since Deepti Sharma ran out Charlotte Dean, there has been a big debate among players and experts about whether the mode of dismissal offends the 'Spirit of the game'. The likes of Ben Stokes, Aaron Finch, Ravichandran Ashwin, and Jos Buttler have given their opinion on the matter and Shastri has become the latest entrant in the list.   

A batter has no business to be wandering out of his crease before the ball is bowled: Ravi Shastri 

"My thoughts are very clear. It's a law. A batsman has no business to be wandering out of his crease before the ball is bowled. And the law in cricket says that if you are doing that, the bowler is perfectly entitled to take the bails off. I know that the rule of 'Mankad' or 'Mankading' was there was a long time and a lot of players are still trying to come to terms with that new law, whether they should be taking off the bail but as a coach, I would tell my players 'Just go out and do it. It's a law. You're not cheating, you're not doing anything that is not part of the game. The batsman should know his business," he said in an interview with Fox Sports.

Recently the International Cricket Council (ICC) deemed the mode of dismissal within the laws of cricket. Shastri also said that there is an outrage because the law did not exist earlier. 

"There is an outrage but it's because that law did not exist earlier. But my argument is that even if it had existed, I don't believe this practice when you warn the player the first time and the second time you can do it. It's like me telling a fielder, 'You've dropped me once. The second time you can catch it. If it's a law that says it is cheating. It is cheating because if you're going out of the crease, you are trying to steal an advantage over the opposition and the bowler. So you jolly well, hold your ground," added the former India coach.

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store