MI vs KKR: Tilak Varma lunges forward to grab outstanding low catch, ends Shardul Thakur's stay

KKR posted 185/6 batting first courtesy of a sensational hundred from Venkatesh Iyer.

View : 555

2 Min Read

Shardul Thakur
Shardul Thakur. (Photo Source: Jio Cinema)

The Indian Premier League season 16 has enthralled the fans with some breathtaking cricketing action in the first 16 days of the tournament. Continuing with the riveting action, Mumbai Indians locked horns with Kolkata Knight Riders in Match 22 on Sunday, April 16, at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

Mumbai won the toss and invited KKR to bat first, and the decision was vindicated by Cameron Green, who got rid of Narayan Jagadeesan in the second over of the match. However, Venkatesh Iyer held the innings with his jaw-dropping shots around the ground.

From Mumbai, off-spinner Hrithik Shokeen had a good day in the field as he picked 2/34 in his four overs. He first got rid of KKR captain Nitish Rana who got holed out to long on in the ninth over of the innings. He further dismissed Shardul Thakur in the 13th over of the innings and helped break the 50-run stand for the fourth wicket.

Shokeen bowled a flighted delivery which Thakur slog-swept towards deep mid-wicket where Tilak Varma was stationed. Varma dived forward and took a brilliant low catch to send Thakur on his way back to the pavilion.

Venkatesh Iyer became second centurion for KKR in their 15-year-long history

Following his dismissal, Iyer continued his sensational knock and scripted history by scoring the second hundred by a KKR player after a gap of almost 15 years. The Southpaw scored 104 off just 51 balls smashing six fours and nine sixes in his innings. A cameo from Andre Russell of 21* off 11 balls helped KKR post a score of 185/6 in their allotted 20 overs.

Notably, Brendon McCullum was the first centurion for KKR as he played a breathtaking knock of 158* from 73 balls in the first-ever game of the IPL against RCB on April 18, 2008. The score stood as the highest individual score in IPL for five years until surpassed by Chris Gayle in the 2013 edition.

After McCullum’s hundred, seven times KKR batters crossed the 90-run mark but couldn’t score a ton until Iyer broke the jinx against MI.


Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store