Mohammad Haris to lead 15-man squad for ACC Men's Emerging Asia Cup 2023

The eight-team ACC Men's Emerging Asia Cup 2023 will get underway on July 14.

View : 2.2K

2 Min Read

Mohammad Haris
Mohammad Haris. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Pakistan Cricket Board announced its 15-member squad for the upcoming ACC Men's Emerging Asia Cup 2023, which is scheduled to take place in Sri Lanka between July 14-23. Eight nations will be in action as their 'A' teams will contest for the trophy. Pakistan Shaheens, as their 'A' team is referred to, will be led by wicketkeeper-batter Mohammad Haris.

The 22-year-old has represented Pakistan in five ODIs and nine T20Is. While Haris has not had a great start to his international career, people who have seen him play are hopeful of bright things in the near future. He was part of the ODI and T20I teams that faced New Zealand at home in April-May.

Omair Yousuf, who is a talented 24-year-old batsman, has been named as Haris' deputy. Yousuf has not played international cricket as yet. However, he has great numbers in first-class cricket and domestic T20s. In 40 first-class games, the right-hander has scored 2687 runs at an average of 43.33. In T20s, Yousuf has scored 290 runs in 10 innings at an average of 41.42 and a strike rate of 145. He was Pakistan A's highest run scorer in the recent series against Zimbabwe A, scoring 275 runs in four matches.

Shahnawaz Dahani is another name to watch out for in the squad. The tall right-arm bowler is one of the fastest going around in Pakistan's domestic circles. The 24-year-old has played two ODIs and 11 T20Is for Pakistan.

The Pakistan A team visited Zimbabwe in May. They played six 50-over games against Zimbabwe A and lost 4-2. It has to be noted, however, that the home side played most of their senior players like Craig Ervine, Sikandar Raza, and Sean Williams, among others.

Pakistan Shaheens to face India A on July 16

The ACC Men's Emerging Asia Cup 2023 will witness the high-voltage clash between India A and Pakistan Shaheens on July 16. The two teams are in Group A alongside Nepal A and Sri Lanka A.

Pakistan Shaheens Squad: Mohammad Haris (captain, wicketkeeper), Omair Bin Yousuf (vice-captain), Amad Butt, Arshad Iqbal, Haseebullah, Kamran Ghulam, Mehran Mumtaz, Mubasir Khan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr., Qasim Akram, Sahibzada Farhan, Saim Ayub, Shahnawaz Dahani, Sufiyan Muqeem, Tayyab Tahir

Non-traveling reserves: Abdul Wahid Bangalzai, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Junaid and Rohail Nazir

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store