Netherlands, Bangladesh, Afghanistan earn direct qualification for T20 World Cup 2024

Netherlands defeated South Africa by 13-runs to finish in the top four of Group 1.

View : 5.7K

2 Min Read

Netherlands Cricket Team
Netherlands Cricket Team. (Photo Source: Mark Brake-ICC/ICC via Getty Images)

A shocking turn of events saw the Netherlands defeat South Africa by 13 runs on Sunday, November 6, to not only eliminate the Proteas from the ongoing T20 World Cup but also directly qualify for the next edition of the mega event.

As per the regulations, the top four sides of both groups earned a direct qualification for the Super 12 along with two other highest-ranked teams to fill the Super 12 spots of the ninth edition of the competition in the West Indies and in the United States of America. 

Thus, the Netherlands side, who are 17th in the ICC T20I rankings, had to win the match against the Proteas to earn their direct qualification for the next edition. They managed to hold their nerves in the pressure game and got a win to finish at the fourth spot in Group 1 of the Super 12.

All South Africa needed was a win to qualify for the semi-finals of the tournament but the Netherlands shocked them with a heartbreaking defeat. Batting first, the Dutch team scored 158 in their 20 overs as Tom Cooper (35) and Colin Ackermann (41) held the ship after Stephan Myburgh and Max O’Dowd gave them a good start in the powerplay.

In the second innings, the Proteas trembled under pressure as their senior batters failed to live up to their potential. Rilee Rossouw (25) was the leading run-scorer for South Africa as in the end his team fell 13 runs short and got eliminated from the competition. Brandon Glover, who played for South Africa U19 side in the past, picked three crucial wickets of Rilee Roussow, David Miller and Wayne Parnell to script a majestic win.

Meanwhile, Pakistan defeated Bangladesh by five wickets to win the virtual quarterfinal and qualify for the semi-finals of the multi-nation tournament.

Teams qualified directly into the T20 World Cup 2024: West Indies, USA, India, England, New Zealand, Pakistan, Australia, South Africa, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka, Netherlands, Bangladesh

Click here to know the T20 World Cup Points Table and T20 World Cup Schedule updates.

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store