New Zealand announce 15-member squad for T20 World Cup 2022

Michael Bracewell and Finn Allen have earned their maiden World Cup callup.

New Zealand Team
New Zealand Team. (Photo by Randy Brooks / AFP) (Photo by RANDY BROOKS/AFP via Getty Images)
Vaishnavi Iyer

Jr. Staff Writer

View : 2.6K

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

New Zealand has revealed its roster for the ICC Men's T20 World Cup, which will take place in Australia next month. The Black Caps have replaced Kyle Jamieson, Todd Astle, and Tim Seifert with Lockie Ferguson, Michael Bracewell, and Finn Allen from the team that competed in the 2021 T20 World Cup Final.

Trent Boult and Jimmy Neesham, the two senior players who recently turned down central contracts, as well as Finn Allen, one of the newest central contract recipients, all have secured a place in the squad.

For the third time, skipper Kane Williamson will lead the Black Caps in the ICC Men's T20 World Cup. With Boult, Ferguson, Tim Southee, and Adam Milne, New Zealand is equipped with a potent pace assault. Bracewell and Mitchell Santner will assist senior pro-Ish Sodhi as he leads the spin onslaught.

Bracewell, who made his debut earlier this year, has already established himself as a key component of the system. He has had crucial batting exploits, earning a spot in the team for the major competition. Glenn Phillips, Daryl Mitchell, Santner, Bracewell, and Neesham provide the squad with the ideal balance given their abilities to contribute both with the bat and ball.

The same set of 15 players will be participating in the tri-series that New Zealand will be hosting ahead of the World Cup, with Bangladesh and Pakistan being the other two teams. The tri-series will prove to be very much useful for all three teams and will gear them up for the 20-over format.

As for the squad, both Bracewell and Allen will be appearing in their first-ever world cup. They earned a place in the team after putting up some impressive and consistent performances recently. While Allen has been providing the team with some solid starts batting in the opening slot, Bracewell’s composure with the bat in the lower middle order has earned the team some good wins.

New Zealand Squad for T20 World Cup 2022: Kane Williamson (c), Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Mitchell Santner, Glenn Phillips, Jimmy Neesham, Daryl Mitchell, Adam Milne, Martin Guptill, Lockie Ferguson, Devon Conway, Mark Chapman, Michael Bracewell, Trent Boult, Finn Allen.