Outgoing BCCI chief Sourav Ganguly set to contest for Cricket Association of Bengal's president's post

Outgoing chief Sourav Ganguly has now confirmed that he will be contesting for the post of Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) president.

View : 805

2 Min Read

Sourav Ganguly
Sourav Ganguly. (Photo Source: PUNIT PARANJPE/AFP via Getty Images)

Incumbent Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) chief Sourav Ganguly after being denied the chance to continue as BCCI chief, has now confirmed that he will be contesting for the post of Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) president. The polls for the same are scheduled to be held on October 31.

If Ganguly wins the polls then it would mark his second stint as the president of CAB as he had previously served between 2015 to 2019 before joining the BCCI.

Ganguly wanted to continue as the BCCI chief but was instead offered the post of the Indian Premier League chairman. But the 50-year-old rejected the proposal. There were also talks of the BCCI recommending his name for the position of the ICC chairman but the Indian cricketing governing body made it clear that it is not going to do so.

Sourav Ganguly confirms to contest CAB polls

“Yes, I will be contesting the CAB polls. I plan to file my nomination on October 22. I have been in CAB for five years and as per Lodha Rules, I can continue for another four years," Ganguly told PTI. 

All eyes are now set on the BCCI's annual general meeting (AGM). It is slated to be held on October 18 in Mumbai. Among the candidates who have filed nominations, former India cricketer and 1983 World Cup winner Roger Binny and Jay Shah are expected to be elected for the posts of the president and secretary respectively.

Earlier, it was expected that Ganguly will be re-elected as the BCCI chief but Roger Binny emerged as the front-runner for the post in a new and surprising set of developments. 

Rajeev Shukla, who is currently also a Rajya Sabha member of parliament, looks likely to retain his post as the vice-president of the governing body. On the other hand, Ashish Shelar will be treasurer and Assam Cricket Association’s Devajit Saikia will highly likely be the new joint secretary.

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store