Reports: Indian squad for ODI World Cup 2023 finalised

India begin their ODI World Cup 2023 campaign on October 8.

View : 5.8K

2 Min Read

Team India
Team India. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Several reports recently came forward that stated that the BCCI’s (Board of Control for Cricket in India) senior national team committee finalised the 15-man squad for team India ahead of the ODI World Cup 2023. The selection committee chairman, Ajit Agarkar, flew to Sri Lanka, where he met up with head coach Rahul Dravid and skipper Rohit Sharma to pick the Indian squad for the World Cup. It has been reported that star batter Sanju Samson was unable to find his place in the squad, whereas KL Rahul remained one of the top picks.

Furthermore, the selection committee also discussed KL Rahul’s fitness issues in length. It was only after the medical team gave the green signal over the ace batter’s fitness that he was included in the squad for the marquee event. It is also expected that KL Rahul will soon be flying to Sri Lanka to join team India for the Asia Cup 2023. 

The deadline for the squad submission for the ODI World Cup 2023 is on September 5, but with the availability of almost every player, the BCCI did not want to wait any longer. Recently, Ajit Agarkar also came forward to hint that India’s World Cup squad will be selected from the pool of players that travelled to Sri Lanka to play the Asia Cup 2023 and the reported squad does seem to follow that trend.

Team India will kickstart their ODI World Cup 2023 campaign against Australia

The Indian team will kick off its World Cup campaign by taking on Australia, on October 8, at the MA Chidambaram Stadium, in Chennai. Furthermore, the much-anticipated clash between India and Pakistan will take place in Ahmedabad, on October 14. With the tournament around the corner, the Rohit Sharma-led side will be keen on putting in their best performances and breaking the dreaded ICC jinx to bring the trophy home.

Team India’s probable World Cup squad: Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav 

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store