Reports: Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma request for rest in New Zealand T20Is after T20 World Cup

India will face New Zealand soon after T20 WC in three-match T20I and ODI series each.

Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli
Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli (Photo credit should read LAKRUWAN WANNIARACHCHI/AFP/Getty Images)
Ankit Mishra
Ankit Mishra

Staff Writer

View : 3K

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

India and New Zealand are in the midst of the ongoing ICC T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia which will conclude on November 13. However, the two heavyweights are on course to lock horns post the marquee event as New Zealand host India for a three-match T20 and ODI series later in November.

As the squads are scheduled to be announced soon, team India players, Virat Kohli and skipper Rohit Sharma have reportedly requested the management to rest them for the T20I leg of the tour.

Hardik Pandya or KL Rahul might lead India

While the management is yet to confirm the droppings of Kohli and Rohit Sharma from the squad as per the requests made, the underlying question is who would lead the side for the white-ball contest? Journalist Kushan Sarkar took to social media to share the information on the tour to New Zealand.

“Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli had requested for rest after T20 WC as there's no turnaround for NZ white ball series. Let's see if Hardik Pandya or KL Rahul leads the T20 side?,” tweeted Kushan Sarkar.

Hardik Pandya recently found success as a skipper with his IPL side Gujarat Titans, guiding them to lift their maiden trophy in their debut season. However, KL Rahul, who is currently the vice-captain is also the front runner for the post ahead of the series. Having said that, reports suggest even Rahul could be rested for the series.

New Zealand vs India: Schedule

Friday, November 18, 7.30pm (local time): 1st T20; Sky Stadium, Wellington

Sunday, November 20, 7.30pm (local time): 2nd T20; Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui

Tuesday, November 22, 7.30pm (local time): 3rd T20; McLean Park, Napier

Friday, November 25, 2.30pm (local time): 1st ODI; Eden Park, Auckland

Sunday, November 27, 2.30pm (local time): 2nd ODI; Seddon Park, Hamilton

Wednesday, November 30, 2.30pm (local time): 3rd ODI; Hagley Oval, Christchurch