SA20 Auction: Pretoria Capitals full squad and Players List for the inaugural season

Their most expensive signing was Rilee Rossouw, who was bought for R 6.90 million.

Rilee Rossouw
Rilee Rossouw. (Photo Source: Henry Browne/Getty Images)

View : 1.2K

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

The inaugural season of the SA20 League, which is scheduled to begin in January 2023, hosted a mega auction in Cape Town on September 19, Monday. Pretoria Capitals have made some impressive picks with a good balance of experience and youth, and depth and quality. Their most expensive signings were left-hand batter Rilee Rossouw, who was bought for R 6.90 million, and left-arm fast bowler Wayne Parnell for R 5.60 million.

English star opener, who had a good summer with the bat in The Hundred, was bought for R 2 million. And one of the best white ball spinners in the game, England’s Adil Rashid was signed for R 2.4 million. Star Kiwi all-rounder Jimmi Neesham, who initially went unsold in the first round, was purchased for a whopping R 3.6 million later.

The uncapped England batter Will Jacks, following a dream run in the English domestic circuit, faring well in the T20 Blast and the Hundred in the summer, was signed by the Capitals for R 1.1 million. He could potentially partner with his compatriot, Salt, to open the innings. 

Pretoria Capitals seal deals with starlets Josh Little, Kusal Mendis

Sri Lankan opener Kusal Mendis has been in great form as he showed in the recently-concluded Asia Cup 2022. And the franchise completed a steal deal by purchasing Mendis for only R 425,000. Ireland’s ace fast bowler Joshua Little was picked for R 1.5 million. He was one of the best bowlers in The Hundred, picking up 13 wickets in only five games and finishing as the fourth-highest wicket-taker of the competition. 

Pretoria Capitals splashed a million bucks on the 29-year-old batter Theunis de Bruyn who might be expected to marshall the middle order. All in all, Pretoria Capitals have one of the best and most balanced sides on paper among the six teams in the SA20.

Here is the full squad of the Pretoria Capitals for the inaugural season of the SA20 league:

Eathan Bosch, Theunis De Bruyn, Shane Dadswell, Cameron Delport, Daryn Dupavillon, Will Jacks, Joshua Little, Marco Marais, Kusal Mendis, Jimmy Neesham, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Migael Pretorius, , Adil Rashid, Rilee Rossouw, Phil Salt, Shaun Von Berg