South Africa announce squads for white ball series vs Australia, Dewald Brevis earns maiden call up

The T20I squad also includes two other uncapped batters namely Donovan Ferreira and Matthew Breetzke.

View : 55.6K

2 Min Read

Dewald Brevis
Dewald Brevis. (Photo Source: Twitter)

South Africa announced the squad for their upcoming white ball series against Australia on Monday, August 14. Young batting sensation Dewald Brevis has earned his maiden call-up to the national team after impressing everyone with his magnificent hitting prowess in domestic T20 competitions all across the globe. The Johannesburg-born batter has been included in both T20I and ODI squads with the series beginning from August 30.

The T20I squad also includes two other uncapped batters namely Donovan Ferreira and Matthew Breetzke. Fast bowler Gerald Coetzee, who has played Tests and ODIs for South Africa has also earned his maiden T20I call-up. Temba Bavuma and Rassie van der Dussen, who were not a part of the T20I series against West Indies at home earlier this year, have also returned.

Left-arm spinner Keshav Maharaj, who was recovering from a ruptured Achilles which he incurred during a Test against West Indies earlier this year, also marks his return. The 33-year-old was expected to be out of the squad for the rest of the year but has shown remarkable progress and is in contention for the World Cup 2023. 

Maharaj has been named in the squad for the 2nd and 3rd T20Is, however, he will only be included in the playing XI once he proves his match fitness. Notably, South Africa will announce an initial World Cup squad on September 5, ahead of the ODI series, but changes can be made to that group until September 27.

Both ODI and T20I squads to begin training from August 24

The Proteas haven’t played any international cricket since their World Cup Super League series against the Netherlands which ended on April 2 earlier this year. The ODI squad will assemble on August 21 for a three-day cohesion camp in the Kruger National Park while the training for both squads will begin from August 24.

South Africa and Australia will first lock horns in a three-match T20I series beginning from Wednesday, August 30 followed by a five-match ODI series beginning from Thursday, September 07.

South Africa squad for T20Is vs Australia: Aiden Markram (C), Rassie van der Dussen, Temba Bavuma, Matthew Breetzke, Dewald Brevis, Gerald Coetzee, Donovan Ferreira, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Sisanda Magala, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs, Lizaad Williams

South Africa squad for ODIs vs Australia: Temba Bavuma (C), Dewald Brevis, Gerald Coetzee, Quinton De kock, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Henrich Klaasen, Sisanda Magala, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Tabraiz Shamsi, Wayne Parnell, Kagiso Rabada.


Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store