T20 World Cup 2022: ICC announces team of the tournament after England's triumph

Four English players made it into the team of the tournament.

T20 World Cup trophy
T20 World Cup trophy. (Photo Source: Twitter)
Chaitanya Prakash

Jr. Staff Writer

View : 4.4K

3 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

England triumphed in the final of the 2022 T20 World Cup in Australia after seeing off a spirited Pakistani side in front of a vociferous crowd at the MCG. Ben Stokes guided the Three Lions to a second T20 title, becoming the first men's team to hold both 50-over and 20-over World Cups at the same time. In the aftermath of the historic victory, the ICC released the official team of the tournament.

ICC's team of the 2022 T20 World Cup

Alex Hales (England)

English opener Alex Hales makes the eleven on the back of his decisive innings that propelled England to the summit clash of the tournament against Pakistan. It was vindication for the opener, who missed his side's 50-over World Cup triumph amidst controversial non-selection to the team.

Jos Buttler (England)

Hales' opening partner and skipper, Jos Buttler, makes the team after reclaiming his form following a slow start to the tournament. The English skipper took over from Eoin Morgan earlier this year and helped his side to glory with a brisk cameo in the finale.

Virat Kohli (India)

India's mercurial batting ace Virat Kohli finished as the leading run-scorer of the tournament, reinstating his dominance in white-ball tournaments. Despite his best efforts, his side failed to make the finals. He finished with 296 runs to his name at a staggering average of 98.66, including four half-centuries. His unbeaten 82 against Pakistan at the MCG will go down as one of the greatest knocks in the history of the competition.

Suryakumar Yadav (India)

Joining Virat Kohli in the list is India's middle-order superstar Suryakumar Yadav. The undisputed no.1 T20I batter in the world lit up the tournament with some jaw-dropping innings for the Men in Blue. He was the enforcer for the Men in Blue compiling 239 runs at an incredible strike rate of 189.68 in this year's competition.

Glenn Phillips (New Zealand)

Kiwi batting star Glenn Phillips took the World Cup by storm and was one of only two players to have registered a century in this year's competition. His stunning catch against Australia will go down as one of the greatest catches in the history of the World Cups.

Sikandar Raza (Zimbabwe)

Sikandar Raza was an ever-present threat to the opposition, be it with the bat or the ball. The talented all-rounder helped Zimambwe to a memorable victory against Pakistan and finished with 219 runs and ten wickets to his name.

Shadab Khan (Pakistan)

Another all-rounder who had a prolific outing in the tournament was Pakistan's Shadab Khan. He was consistent with the ball throughout the campaign and played some glittering knocks along the way to propel Pakistan to the final.

Sam Curran  (England)

Sam Curran was named the player of the tournament for his exceptional bowling exploits for the winners. The left arm pacer finished with 13 wickets to his name including a match-winning bowling figures of 3/12 against Pakistan in the summit clash at the MCG. 

Anrich Nortje (South Africa)

South Africa might have not made it to the latter stages of the tournament, but express pacer Anirich Nortje makes the list after blowing away the batters with his rapid pace in the competition. He scalped 11 wickets in just five outing for the Proteas in the Super 12 stage of the competetion.

Mark Wood (England)

England's Mark Wood failed to make it to the knockout stages due to an unfortunate injury. However, his consistent performances in the lead-up to the semi-finals garners him a place in the team of the tournament.

Shaheen Shah Afridi (Pakistan)

Pakistan's fate might have been different if they hadn't lost their star man Shaheen Afridi to an injury in the final. The influential pacer was not able to complete his full quota of overs but did enough to seal his spot in the team of the tournament. An absolute menace with the new ball, Afridi scalped 11 wickets after going wicket-less in the first two matches.

12th Man: Hardik Pandya (India)

India's flamboyant all-rounder Hardik Pandya makes the team as the 12th man after his heroics in the semi-final propelled India to a competitive total. Pandya finished the tournament as the team's third-leading run scorer behind Virat Kohli and Suryakumar Yadav along with eight scalps to his name.