T20 World Cup 2024: Netherlands add two players to their roster as injury replacements

Fred Klaassen and Daniel Doram have been ruled out of the T20 World Cup as they have picked up injuries.

View : 1.2K

2 Min Read

Netherlands. (Photo Source: X(Twitter)

Netherlands have dealt a huge blow ahead of the T20 World Cup 2024. Their star players, Fred Klaassen and Daniel Doram have been ruled out of the T20 World Cup as they have picked up injuries. Currently, the Dutch are playing a Tri-Series against Scotland and Ireland in preparation for the marquee event.

The injured Klaassen and Doram are replaced by Kyle Klein and Saqib Zulfiqar. It is worth noting that Klein was initially named as the travelling reserve for the T20 World Cup. Klein has played just one T20I and two ODIs so far. On the other hand, Zulfiqar has played six T20Is and 15 ODIs so far. He has nine wickets at an economy rate of 6.46.

Also Read: T20 World Cup 2024: All you need to know about Associate teams

Scott Edwards was the captain of the Netherlands when the team featured in the T20 World Cup 2022. He is named as the skipper for the latest edition as well. The Global Event will commence on June 2. Netherlands are placed in Group D of the T20 World Cup alongside Bangladesh, Nepal, South Africa, and Sri Lanka, and start with a game against Nepal on June 4 in Dallas.

Netherlands impressed many with their World Cup 2023 performance

Men in Orange will play two warm-up fixtures against Sri Lanka and Canada before their tournament opener against Nepal. Talking about the Netherlands’ recent ICC event, they featured in the ODI World Cup 2023 held in India and impressed the world with their performance. They inflicted a loss to the giant South Africa and beat Bangladesh later in the tournament.

Also Read: T20 World Cup 2024: Prominent players omitted as Netherlands unveil squad for mega event

Netherlands provisional squad for the T20 World Cup

Aryan Dutt, Bas de Leede, Kyle Klein, Logan van Beek, Max O'Dowd, Michael Levitt, Paul van Meekeren, Scott Edwards (c/wk), Saqib Zulfiqar, Sybrand Engelbrecht, Teja Nidamanuru, Tim Pringle, Vikramjit Singh, Vivian Kingma, Wesley Barresi.

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store