'That is the biggest load of rubbish I have ever seen' - Glenn McGrath's unfiltered take on Mitchell Starc catch controversy

An incensed Glenn McGrath made his feelings clear in a blunt statement, following the controversy.

View : 334

2 Min Read

Glenn McGrath and Mitchell Starc
Glenn McGrath and Mitchell Starc. (Photo Source: Philip Brown/Popperfoto/Popperfoto via Getty Images and Stu Forster/Getty Images)

The ongoing Ashes is living up to the billing as the hosts are engaged in another thrilling contest at the Lord's. While a full house crowd witnessed the drama unfold on the pitch on the fourth day, Ben Duckett's non-dismissal in the late stages of the day has grabbed the headlines. Former Australian cricketer Glenn McGrath gave his unfiltered take on the controversy.

England's batting woes continued on the fourth day when Pat Cummins and Mitchell Starc grabbed two wickets each to make light work of the English top order. Despite losing four wickets, the home side are still in the contest, thanks to Ben Duckett's half-century. However, the English opener should have been back in the pavilion, according to Glenn McGrath. 

Duckett, who mistimed a pull shot, was caught by Starc on the boundary. While the English opener was on his way back to the pavilion, the third umpire intervened, reversing the on-field decision. Apparently, the Australian pacer was not in control of his movement as he grassed the ball while sliding on the ground. An incensed Glenn McGrath made his feelings clear in a blunt statement, following the controversy. 

“I’m sorry, that is the biggest load of rubbish I have ever seen. He has got that ball under control. That ball is under control. I’m sorry, I’ve seen everything this game has to offer. If that is not out, then every other catch that’s ever been taken should be not out. 

That is a disgrace. I’ve seen everything now. I cannot believe that. If that ball is not under control, that is ridiculous. He’s got that well under control in two hands. I have seen everything now,” McGrath said on BBC’s Test Match Special. 

If that’s England taking that catch, that’s out: McGrath

Mitchell Starc was seen having a go at the English opener in the penultimate over of the day, venting out his frustration about the controversial decision. Glenn McGrath made a contentious statement, saying things would have been different if an English player had taken that catch.

"If that’s England taking that catch, that’s out. That’s ridiculous. I cannot believe that. That is a regulation catch. If I’m bowling, I’m not happy. The ground had no assistance in him catching that ball. He’s having a go at Duckett. I’d be having a go at everyone if I was Mitchell Starc. That’s basically saying Mitchell Starc is cheating. And he did not cheat, he caught that comfortably. If you catch it in your hand, you have control,” he added.

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store