West Indies name 15-member squad for T20I series against India

Shai Hope, Shimron Hetmyer, and Oshane Thomas earn recalls to the setup.

View : 37.9K

2 Min Read

West Indies Cricket
West Indies Cricket. (Photo Source: ICC)

The Cricket West Indies (CWI) Senior Men’s Selection Panel on Tuesday, August 1, announced the 15-member squad for the five-match T20I series against India. Notably, the two sides will square off for the T20I series which is slated to kickstart on Thursday, August 3, at the Brian Lara Cricket Academy in Trinidad.

It is worth mentioning that the provisional 15-member squad will travel for all five matches and a 13-member squad will be selected for each match from which the final playing XI will be decided. Notably, wicketkeeper-batter Shai Hope, Shimron Hetmyer, and Oshane Thomas earned recalls to the setup. In addition to this, the selection committee further explained that the squad was decided keeping in mind the 2024 T20 World Cup.

“The squad is selected with the next ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in mind. We are looking at various plans as we try to find the right combinations. As we prepare; we are looking to build a unit which we believe can do the job when we host the global event in just under a year,” Dr Desmond Haynes, Lead Selector of CWI was quoted as saying by ‘Windiescricket’.

“We have some match-winners in our line-up and we will look to have the right kind of preparation, starting here in Trinidad on Thursday. We also have other players who could come into consideration going forward, with the Caribbean Premier League starting next month, others will come into the reckoning,” he added.

Rovman Powell will shoulder the responsibility of leading the side whereas Kyle Mayers has been named his deputy for the five-match series. Speaking about the series, Providence in Guyana will host the second and third T20Is whereas Lauderhill in Florida will host the fifth and final T20I between the two sides.

West Indies squad for T20I series against India: Rovman Powell (c), Kyle Mayers (vc), Johnson Charles, Roston Chase, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Obed McCoy, Nicholas Pooran, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Oshane Thomas

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store