Why are Deepak Chahar and Matheesha Pathirana not playing IPL 2024 Match 22 between CSK vs KKR?

Chennai Super Kings made three changes to their playing XI after back-to-back losses in the last two fixtures.

View : 569

3 Min Read

Deepak Chahar and Matheesha Pathirana
Deepak Chahar and Matheesha Pathirana. (Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) are about to take on Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in Match 22 at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai. CSK captain Ruturaj Gaikwad won the toss and elected to bowl first in the crucial fixture. Coming into the game having lost their last two fixtures, CSK were forced to make a few changes to their playing XI.

The five-time champions had to bench the seam all-rounder Deepak Chahar due to a niggle. The 31-year-old hasn’t had a memorable season so far having scalped just four wickets from as many games at an average of 34.75 and an economy of 9.16.

Also Read: ‘I feel both Mustafizur and Pathirana will play’ - Aakash Chopra backs CSK pacers to perform against KKR

The CSK team management brought in a like-for-like replacement for Chahar in Shardul Thakur who will be playing the first game of the season. Apart from Chahar, CSK were once again without the services of Sri Lankan speedster Matheesha Pathirana who also missed the last fixture against Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) due to a niggle.

The 21-year-old has scalped four wickets in the season so far from two matches at an average of 15 and an economy of 7.50. He was the pick of the bowlers in their fixture against Delhi Capitals (DC) as he picked three wickets giving away 31 runs from four overs.

Despite a couple of injuries, CSK had some good news as their left-arm seamer Mustafizur Rahman was available for selection. Notably, the 28-year-old missed the last fixture as he had to fly to Bangladesh to process his US Visa ahead of the T20 World Cup 2024.

KKR made no changes to their playing XI

Apart from Thakur and Mustafizur, CSK also brought in right-handed batter Sameer Rizvi into the playing XI who got his IPL career off to a sensational start by smashing a couple of sixes against Rashid Khan. Meanwhile, KKR didn’t make any changes heading into the fixture as they’re riding high on their winning momentum having won all three of their matches so far.

Also Read: Watch: MS Dhoni spotted knocking huge hits ahead of KKR game

Kolkata Knight Riders (Playing XI): Philip Salt(w), Sunil Narine, Venkatesh Iyer, Shreyas Iyer(c), Angkrish Raghuvanshi, Andre Russell, Rinku Singh, Ramandeep Singh, Mitchell Starc, Vaibhav Arora, Varun Chakaravarthy

Kolkata Knight Riders Impact Subs: Suyash Sharma, Anukul Roy, Manish Pandey, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Sakib Hussain

Chennai Super Kings (Playing XI): Ruturaj Gaikwad(c), Rachin Ravindra, Ajinkya Rahane, Daryl Mitchell, Sameer Rizvi, Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni(w), Shardul Thakur, Mustafizur Rahman, Tushar Deshpande, Maheesh Theekshana

Chennai Super Kings Impact Subs: Shivam Dube, Moeen Ali, Shaik Rasheed, Mitchell Santner, Nishant Sindhu

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store