T20 World Cup 2022 Quiz

India and Pakistan are all set to clash in a blockbuster encounter on October 23 at Melbourne

Australia Team
Australia Team (Photo Source: Twitter)
Pawan Ashok Sharma

Jr. Statistician

View : 4.5K

3 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

The global T20 carnival is back as the eighth edition of the Twenty20 World Cup is back after a year and is set to kick start with its Super 12 stage on Saturday, October 22, 2022, with a clash between the finalists of last year’s edition Australia and New Zealand in Sydney. The mouth-watering encounter between the Aussies and the Kiwis will be followed by another match between 2010 champions England and the Asian side Afghanistan in Perth.

Cricket fans around the world can’t ask for a better Super Sunday as arch-rivals India and Pakistan are set to lock horns in a high-voltage tie on the 23rd at the iconic and historic Melbourne Cricket Ground in Melbourne. A year ago, both teams met in Dubai in the 2021 edition and it was the Men in Green who emerged victorious after solid performances from pacer Shaheen Afridi, skipper Babar Azam and his opening partner Mohammad Rizwan as they defeated India for the first time ever in a World Cup match.

The T20 World Cup has come a long way ever since its inception way back in the year 2007. West Indies power-hitter Chris Gayle set the stage on fire with his blistering ton against hosts South Africa in the opening match of the inaugural campaign. MS Dhoni-led team India entered the history books when the young side lifted the trophy by beating Pakistan in Johannesburg in the finals. After falling just short in that final, Pakistan bounced back to clinch their maiden title in the 2009 edition in England.

West Indies are the most successful side in T20 World Cups as they have managed to win the trophy twice in 2012 and 2016, both times under the leadership of Darren Sammy. England and Sri Lanka grabbed the trophy in 2010 and 2014 respectively while the hosts of the upcoming tournament Australia lifted their maiden title last year in 2021. New Zealand and South Africa remain the only two big teams who have never been able to claim the crown in the competition’s history.

 Virat Kohli is the only player with multiple Player of the Tournament awards

Star India batter Virat Kohli is the only player in the history of the T20 World Cups to win the Player of the Tournament award twice. The run machine not only managed to win it on two occasions but he did that in successive campaigns in 2014 and 2016. Former skipper Kohli was the leading run-scorer in the 2014 edition with 319 runs to his name in just six innings. He continued his solid run in the following tournament as he amassed 275 runs in five innings with three half-centuries. Unfortunately, his side lost the final to Sri Lanka in 2014 and suffered heartbreak from West Indies in the semi-final on home soil in 2016.

The T20 World Cups have never ever disappointed fans around the world and the ongoing edition also promises to be one significant and remarkable tournament. The Aussies, who were supposed to stage the event in the year 2020 but couldn't due to the Coronavirus outbreak, will be looking to defend their crown and create history. Other favorites India would also hope to end their 15-year-long wait for the glory while England is the one to watch out for as well. The qualifying round is done and dusted and Sri Lanka, Netherlands, Ireland, and Zimbabwe are the teams who have entered the main draw to compete in the Super 12 round.

 Meanwhile, lets Test your knowledge in this quiz based on T20 World Cups: