ICC Women's T20 World Cup 2023 Stats Review: Australia's Brilliance, Laura Wolvaardt's class, and more records

Australia crowned world champions for the record sixth time.

View : 113

4 Min Read

Cricket Australia
Cricket Australia. (Photo Source: Mike Hewitt/Getty Images)

The exciting eighth edition of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup has concluded in Cape Town with the mighty Aussies crowned champions for the record sixth time. Australia Women's are easily the most successful team in the cricketing world.

The 29-year-old star performer Beth Mooney played an undefeated 74-run knock, helping Australia post a decent total (156/6) on the board. The target proved too much for the hosts South Africa, eventually losing the grand finale by a margin of 19 runs.  

For South Africa, Laura Wolvaardt played brilliant knocks in the last three games for South Africa, scoring three consecutive half-centuries (66*, 53, 61). She was instrumental in seeing her side qualify for the finals for the first time in the history of World Cup tournaments. Her three half-centuries included the one that she scored in the finals against Australia. Though she did amass 61 runs, sadly couldn't get her team over the line.

In the end, the Aussies prevailed over the Proteas by a slender margin to claim the coveted World Cup title in Women's Cricket yet again. From the word go, the Aussie Women were the favourites.

Top Performers:

Laura Wolvaardt leads the batting chart with 230 runs at an average of 46, followed by Nat Sciver-Brunt (216) averaging 72, and Beth Mooney (206) occupying the third spot. Mooney averages 51.50 in six games.

In the bowling department, Sophie Ecclestone from England leads the most wickets chart with 11 scalps from five games. She is followed by Megan Schutt and Asleigh Gardner with 10 wickets each in the next spot.

Sophie Ecclestone
Sophie Ecclestone. (Photo Source: MARCO LONGARI/AFP via Getty Images)

Richa Ghosh was instrumental in seven dismissals behind the stumps while Amy Jones is second with five dismissals.

Stats and Numbers from the ICC Women’s World Cup 2023:

1 -This is for the first time that South Africa have reached the finals of the World Cup tournament which include both Men and Women cricket competitions.

1 -Meg Lanning became the first captain to play 100 T20Is.

6 -Australia Women now have six T20 World Cup titles, the most by any team.

5 -Meg Lanning now has five T20 World Cup titles as skipper.

Harmanpreet Kaur, Meg Lanning and Heather Knight
Harmanpreet Kaur, Meg Lanning and Heather Knight. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Most T20 World Cup titles as Captain (Both Men and Women).

5 -Meg Lanning

2 -Darren Sammy

2 -Bethany Mooney has two half-centuries in T20 World Cup finals.

Most half-centuries in T20 World Cup finals:

2 -Kumar Sangakkara

2 -Marlon Samuels

2 -Bethany Mooney

43 -Shabnim Ismail has now 43 T20 World Cup wickets which is the most by any player in Women’s T20 World Cup. She surpassed Anya Shrubsole tally of 41 wickets.

4 -South Africa Women became the fourth team to appear in the T20 World Cup finals as hosts.

Host Nations to Appear in T20 World Cup finals:

2009- England Women

2012 -Sri Lanka

2020 -Australia Women

2023 -South Africa Women

1 – Laura Wolvaardt became the first South African to score a half-century in World Cup finals.

8 -Chloe Tryon became the eighth South African Women to score 1000 runs in Women’s T20I

2 -Laura Wolvaardt became the second player after Mahela Jayawardene to score three consecutives 50 plus scores in T20 World Cup.

2 -Harmanpreet Kaur now has the second joint most sixes in Women’s T20 World Cup, equalling Sophie Devine tally of 18 sixes. Deandra Dottin tops the list with 22 maximums.

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS App Store and Google Play Store

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store