List of records created by India in 2022 calendar year

India scripted history on various fronts in the 2022 calendar year.

Team India
Team India (Photo Source: Twitter/BCCI)
Ankit Mishra

Jr. Staff Writer

View : 2.4K

4 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

Team India produced some fine performances in the T20I format in the calendar year 2022. The Men in Blue may not have won any major titles in the form of ICC T20 World Cup 2022 or the Asia Cup 2022 but the side was pretty clinical in terms of winning bilateral series both at home and away.

India enjoyed a stellar year in terms of success in the T20I format which resulted in the team setting up numerous records. Many of its players who contributed to the success also notched up individual records that many will envy in the days to come. Although there is still some cricketing action left to happen in 2022, these records are not going to be broken this year.

Here is a list of some of the records:

Most wins in T20Is in a calendar year (28)

The Men in Blue have registered the most wins in T20I by any team in a calendar year with as many as 28 victories in 2022. Furthermore, the side went past the previous record set by arch-rivals Pakistan who had won 20 times last year.

Most wins across formats in a calendar year (43)

Not just the T20I format, it is across all three formats of the sport that India have witnessed comprehensive victories and claimed the top spot for recording the most wins. With 43 wins overall this year, they surpassed Australia who had won a record 38 times back in 2003, the same year they clinched the 2003 World Cup title.

Most wins by a captain in T20Is in a calendar year (21)

Rohit Sharma took over the leadership role from flamboyant right-hander Virat Kohli and has been nothing short of exceptional. The skipper has led the side to the most number of wins by a captain across all the nations in the shortest format with 21 wins this year. Babar Azam of Pakistan was the previous record holder with 20 wins in the 2021 calendar year.

Most wins batting first in T20Is in a calendar year (18)

India have defended their totals quite well this year as they have emerged victorious a record 18 times in the T20I format while batting first. India finished with five wins ahead of previous record holders Pakistan who had 13 wins batting first to their name in 2018.

Virat Kohli became the first batter to reach the milestone of 4000 runs in T20Is (4008 total)

Virat Kohli endured a lean patch in the last two years and decided to take a short sabbatical from the sport. Upon his return, fans witnessed the vintage Kohli as he displayed the kind of performances he is best known for. He took the Asia Cup 2022 and the T20 World Cup 2022 by storm with his run-scoring ability. Kohli became the first batter to surpass the 4000-run mark in the shortest format.

Suryakumar Yadav became the 2nd player to reach 1000 T20I runs in a calendar year

Team India’s swashbuckling right-hander Suryakumar Yadav has been in terrific form. He became the second player after Mohammad Rizwan to reach 1000 T20I runs in a calendar year. With 1164 runs in 2022, he joined Pakistan’s Rizwan in the list, who was the first to score 1000 runs in the format (1326 runs in 2021).

Most sixes by a player in T20Is in a calendar year (68)

Suryakumar Yadav left fans and fellow players mesmerized by his stroke play in the shortest format this year. The batter now holds the record of hitting most maximums in the T20I format with 68 sixes to his name and has gone miles ahead of Muhammad Waseem who dispatched the ball 43 times over the boundary rope in 2022 followed by Rizwan (42) in 2021.

Most centuries by a team in T20Is in a calendar year (4)

Four of India's batters scored centuries in T20Is in 2022. The centuries came from Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, and Suryakumar Yadav (twice) as India beat their previous record of three centuries also jointly held by South Africa and Czech Republic.

Most sixes by a team in T20Is in a calendar year (289)

West Indies are one side known for their power hitting and they held the record for hitting most sixes by a team in a calendar year with a staggering 214 maximums. However, the Men in Blue surpassed the record tonking a record-breaking 289 sixes in 2022.

Most POTM awards in T20Is in a calendar year (7)

Suryakumar Yadav bagged a total of seven Player of the Match (POTM) awards in the shortest format alongside Zimbabwe’s Sikandar Raza who also has seven to his name in 2022. Nobody has more POTM awards in T20Is this year.

Highest strike rate in T20Is in a calendar year min 500 runs

With a minimum of 500 runs scored, Suryakumar also holds the record for the highest strike rate in T20Is and rightfully so. With 187.43, he edged past New Zealand’s Colin Munro who had a strike rate of 178.57 in 2018.

Second-most wickets in T20Is in a calendar year by full-members

Bhuvneshwar Kumar has been a vital asset in the Men in Blue bowling unit. And that has reflected quite well as he scalped the second most number of wickets in T20Is in a calendar year with 37 scalps to his name finishing just below Ireland’s Joshua Little who racked up 39 wickets in 2022, including a famous hat-trick against New Zealand in the recently concluded T20 World Cup 2022.