LSG vs RCB, Match 43 Stats Review: RCB's unwanted record, Virat Kohli's feat and other stats

RCB successfully defended the low target in Lucknow and clinched the victory in a stylish manner.

View : 97.7K

3 Min Read

Royal Challengers Bangalore
RCB. (Photo Source: Twitter)

A valuable knock from skipper Faf du Plessis (40 of 44) followed by a clinical bowling display saw Royal Challengers Bangalore register their third win over Lucknow Super Giants by a margin of 18 runs in match number 43 of Indian Premier League 2023 at the Ekana Cricket Stadium in Lucknow.

Faf won the toss and opted to bat first. RCB got a decent start as du Plessis and Virat Kohli added 62 runs. Ravi Bishnoi drew the first blood for LSG. Krishnappa Gowtham and Amit Mishra joined hands with Ravi Bishnoi as the trio picked back-to-back wickets in middle overs, leaving RCB in trouble at 90/4 in the 14th over. Soon the RCB captain was dismissed by Amit Mishra in the 16th over. LSG bowlers bowled tight overs in the end to restrict RCB to 126/9 in 20 overs 

In response to 126, Kyle Mayers got bowled for a duck off Mohammed Siraj's delivery in the very first over, and surprisingly Krunal Pandya came at three and smashed a hattrick of fours in Siraj's over. Soon Josh Hazlewood, Glenn Maxwell, and Wanindu Hasaranga joined hands as they picked three wickets in the three overs. 

At the end of the powerplay, LSG managed to score 34/4 and Nicholas Pooran racked up 9 off 7. Krishnappa Gowtham and Marcus Stoinis kept the scoreboard ticking by adding 27 runs, but soon Karn Sharma broke the partnership by sending back Stoinis for 13(19). In the next over, Gowtham got run out and LSG's lower order batters led the fightback, which was not sufficient to chase the target of 127 as they bundled out for 108 and eventually RCB won the match by 18 runs. 

Meanwhile, here are some of the important stats and numbers from Match No. 43 between Lucknow Super Giants and Royal Challengers Bangalore in the Indian Premier League 2023: 

42- RCB registered their lowest powerplay score of IPL 2023 (42). Their previous lowest powerplay score came against Delhi Capitals (47)  

172- Amit Mishra has now taken 172 wickets in IPL, becoming the third-highest wicket-taker in IPL. Mishra surpassed the tally of Lasith Malinga (170), Piyush Chawla (170), and Ravichandran Ashwin (170). Dwayne Bravo (183) and Yuzvendra Chahal (178) take the first two spots in the list.

14 - Dinesh Karthik got run out for the 14th time in IPL, getting to the third place in the list of batters to be involved in runouts the most times. Indian batter Shikhar Dhawan tops the list as he has been run-out 16 times.

7 - Glenn Maxwell got dismissed by spinners for the seventh time in the last eight innings 

3/30 - Naveen-ul-Haq scripted his joint best figures of 3/30 in the league 

219 - Faf du Plessis scored 219 in four at an average of 73.00 with a strike rate of 145.03 against LSG. He smashed two fifty against LSG.

2 - Mohammed Siraj has dismissed Kyle Mayers for the duck twice in the IPL 2023 

53- Deepak Hooda has scored 53 in nine innings at a poor average of 6.60 with a strike rate of 89.83 in the ongoing Indian Premier League 

103 – Kohli has taken 103 catches in IPL as he equalled Kieron Pollard's record. Suresh Raina tops the list with 109 catches as a fielder. 

5 - Virat Kohli was stumped for the fifth time in IPL 

108 - LSG registered their second-lowest total (108) in IPL as their lowest total was 82 which came against Gujarat Titans at Pune in 2022 

127 - RCB successfully defended their joint-lowest target in IPL  

Lowest Targets defended by RCB in IPL 

127 vs CSK at Chennai in 2008 

127 vs LSG at Lucknow in 2023 

134 vs RR at Cape Town in 2009 

146 vs PBKS at Durban in 2009 

150 vs SRH at Chennai in 2021 

157 vs Deccan Chargers at Bengaluru in 2008 

127 – RCB successfully defended lowest target in Lucknow as the previous lowest target at this venue was defended by Gujarat Titans (136) against LSG in 2023 

127 – RCB successfully defended the lowest target in IPL 2023 

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store