Which captains have led India to ICC U19 World Cup victory?

Shafali Verma scripted history leading the U19 Women’s side to glory on January 29 and made a place for herself in the elite list of cricketers.

View : 8.8K

4 Min Read

Shafali Verma
Shafali Verma. (Photo by Matt King-ICC/ICC via Getty Images)

India U19 Women’s team etched their names in history after clinching the inaugural edition of the ICC Women's U19 T20 World Cup as Shafali Verma became the first India women's skipper ever to win an ICC trophy. India registered a historic win against England in the summit clash of the marquee event in Potchefstroom.

India trounced the pre-tournament favourites by seven wickets in the final on January 29 as the Women in Blue chased down the paltry 69-run target set by the Three Lions to win their maiden title. With this, Shafali has joined the elite club of Indian cricketing greats like Virat Kohli and Mohammad Kaif.

India's U19 teams have come a long way in terms of cementing their names in history. Under the leadership of Mohammad Kaif, India clinched their first-ever U19 title in 2000, as they defeated the neighbours Sri Lanka. Yuvraj Singh and Reetinder Singh Sodhi were among the notable players of the batch to lay hands on the trophy since the event started in 1988.

This was followed by flamboyant India batter Virat Kohli, who guided the side to win the 2008 U19 World Cup. The achievement gave the batter a major breakthrough in his career and he quickly burst onto the scene with Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) team in the Indian Premier League (IPL). The Kohli-led side emerged victorious against South Africa in Kuala Lumpur, with Kohli taking the torch from Kaif.

After Kohli’s historic win, the U19 national side won the title thrice - Unmukt Chand in 2012, Prithvi Shaw in 2018, and Yash Dhull in 2022. Now, Shafali has scripted history by leading the U19 Women’s side to glory and made a place for herself in the elite list.

Captain  Winning Year
Mohammad Kaif 2000 Men's U19 World Cup
Virat Kohli 2008 Men's U19 World Cup
Unmukt Chand 2012 Men's U19 World Cup
Prithvi Shaw 2018 Men's U19 World Cup
Yash Dhull 2022 Men's U19 World Cup
Shafali Verma 2023 Women's U19 T20 World Cup

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS App Store and Google Play Store

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store