CSA appoint Graeme Smith as commissioner for their T20 league with IPL stakeholders

The league is scheduled to commence in January 2023 and will feature some of the biggest names in world cricket.

Graeme Smith
Graeme Smith. (Photo Source: Getty Images)

View : 703

3 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

Former South African captain Graeme Smith has been appointed the commissioner for CSA’s new T20 league. Test cricket’s most successful skipper Smith will oversee the cricketing and non-cricketing aspects of the league as South Africa dives into the domestic T20 league arena. This is the first instance of a former player heading a T20 league.

The proposed league is scheduled to take place in January and February 2023. The CSA have overlooked their international commitments, namely the bilateral ODI series in Australia, to make room for the league. The former South African skipper is an ideal role model for budding cricketers in the country owing to his leadership roles and his personality on and off the field. His experience will prove vital, and he will need to ensure the smooth running of all the operations and establish a global brand that attracts viewers each year.

“I’m extremely honoured to be entrusted with leading this exciting new venture and deeply committed to South African cricket and happy to serve the game as best I can. I’m excited by the opportunity to deliver the new league, which I believe will be an extremely competitive product, one that can bring the much-needed investment into the game and provide new opportunities for players around the world, and more importantly to our SA home grown talent,” Smith said to the media.

We’re determined to deliver a valuable, sustainable, and appealing tournament for South African cricket: Graeme Smith

All the six participating teams were snapped up by the IPL franchises, during a process carried out by audit and consultancy firm Deloitte. The involvement of IPL franchises will help construct the popularity of the league, and the teams will also receive financial backing from the Indian owners, something that has become a dire necessity for CSA in the past few years.

Here are IPL owners of all six franchises of the SA T20 league

Cape Town Mumbai Indians
Johannesburg Chennai Super Kings
Durban Lucknow Super Giants
Port Elizabeth Sunrisers Hyderabad
Pretoria Delhi Capitals
Paarl Rajasthan Royals

“The response from stakeholders has been very positive thus far and we’ve made great progress in the initial stages. We’re determined to deliver a valuable, sustainable, and appealing tournament for South African cricket,” the former Protean skipper added.