CSK vs KKR Head to Head record in IPL history CSK vs KKR Head to Head | KKR vs CSK H2H Stats & Records in IPL

CSK vs KKR Head to Head record in IPL history

KKR has missed the playoff berth in the last two years.

MS Dhoni and Eoin Morgan
MS Dhoni and Eoin Morgan. (Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

Chennai Super Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders both did not have a good time last season as they failed to qualify for playoffs. Though the performance of CSK was disappointing just in the last season and they have qualified for playoffs in all the seasons they played before. However, KKR has missed the playoff berth in the last two years ending up at the fifth spot both times. In IPL 2021, the two sides have been sensational and will now lock horns in the high-voltage final clash at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium.

Head to Head record:

Chennai Super Kings is way ahead of the Kolkata Knight Riders team so far in IPL history. CSK have won 16 matches out of 25 games they have played against KKR. Ever since the start of IPL, CSK have never lost both league matches of the season against KKR. In IPL 2012 both teams clashed in the final where KKR registered a memorable victory by 5 wickets and winning their maiden IPL trophy.

Matches Played CSK Won KKR Won No Result
25 16 8 1

Top performers:

In the T20 matches held between CSK and KKR, Suresh Raina has scored the most runs (747), followed by MS Dhoni (500) and Robin Uthappa (318). Suresh Raina has earlier smashed a century against KKR in a Champions League T20 match. Among the bowlers, Sunil Narine has picked up the most wickets (19), followed by Ravindra Jadeja (16) and Dwayne Bravo (11).

Last match result:

The two sides last locked horns in the UAE of IPL 2021 at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi. The coin landed in KKR’s favour and Eoin Morgan elected to bat. The decision seemed fruitful as several batters chipped in with handy cameos. While Rahul Tripathi slammed 45 runs, Nitish Rana and Dinesh Karthik scored 37 and 26 respectively. As a result, KKR posted 171/6 in their allotted 20 overs.

Chasing the challenging total, CSK got off to a stellar start with openers Ruturaj Gaikwad and Faf du Plessis adding 74 runs for the first wicket and that too in quick time. Although fall of quick wickets brought KKR back in the hunt, a timely cameo from Ravindra Jadeja too CSK home. He slammed 22 off mere eight balls as Chennai crossed the line in the very last ball, winning the contest by two wickets.

Tournament Venue Winner Margin
2021 IPL Abu Dhabi CSK 2 Wickets
2021 IPL Mumbai CSK 10 runs
2020 IPL Abu Dhabi KKR 10 Runs
2020 IPL Dubai CSK 6 Wickets
2019 IPL Chennai CSK 7 Wickets
2019 IPL Kolkata CSK 5 Wickets
2018 IPL Chennai CSK 5 wickets
2018 IPL Kolkata KKR 6 wickets
2015 IPL Chennai CSK 2 runs
2015 IPL Kolkata KKR 7 wickets
2014 IPL Ranchi CSK 34 runs
2014 IPL Kolkata KKR 8 wickets
2014 CLT20 Hyderabad KKR 3 wickets
2014 CLT20 Bangalore CSK 8 wickets
2013 IPL Kolkata CSK 4 wickets
2013 IPL Chennai CSK 14 runs
2012 IPL Chennai KKR 5 wickets
2012 IPL Kolkata CSK 5 wickets
2012 IPL Chennai KKR 5 wickets
2011 IPL Chennai CSK 2 runs
2011 IPL Kolkata KKR 10 runs
2010 IPL Kolkata CSK 55 runs
2010 IPL Chennai CSK 9 wickets
2009 IPL Cape Town
2009 IPL Centurion KKR 7 wickets
2008 IPL Chennai CSK 9 wickets
2008 IPL Kolkata CSK 3 runs

For all the latest IPL news, live scores, schedule, point table & updates, stay tuned to CricTracker.