CT IPL Flashback: 5 Players who once played for Sunrisers Hyderabad in the IPL

CT IPL Flashback: 5 Players who once played for Sunrisers Hyderabad in the IPL

Quinton de Kock SRH IPL
(Photo Source: BCCI)

The Sunrisers Hyderabad made their entry into the gigantic cricket carnival named the Indian Premier League (IPL) in 2013 when the Deccan Chargers franchise was terminated from the tournament by the IPL governing Council.

The team owned by the Sun TV Networks has lived up to its worth as they lifted the prestigious trophy in 2016, and are the reigning champions of the cash-rich tournament. The team has been captained by mostly foreign cricketers, all of them being big names from the world of cricket.

Under the leadership of coach Tom Moody and mentor VVS Laxman the team has seen various talents from over the globe wear the Sunrisers colors, but not all could be a part of the triumph of 2016. Here are a few players who were once a part of the Hyderabad-based franchise but did not stay for long.

1. Kumar Sangakkara

Kumar Sanagakkara IPL
(Photo Source: BCCI)

Regarded as one of the world’s most influential player, Kumar Sangakkara led the Sunrisers Hyderabad squad in its debut season. The genius left-hander was one of the few players who were also a part of the Deccan Chargers before moving onto the Sunrisers side.

Featuring for the side in 9 matches, Sangakkara had a very short tenure in the team’s jersey. The elegant stroke player did not have a spell to remember during his time in the IPL as he only managed to score 120 runs from his 9 innings with the highest score of just 28. The reason for such a low scoring term might be the fact that the left-handed batsman was never a big hitter that is essential in a T20 tournament but was a colossal performer in the longer formats of the game.

But his captaincy and experience proved to be useful for the team as they qualified for the playoffs in their inaugural year before getting eliminated by the Rajasthan Royals at the Firoz Shah Kotla in Delhi. SRH changed captain mid-way through the 2013 season and handed it over to Cameron White.

Page 1 / 5