Danushka Gunathilaka reveals Kieron Pollard apologized after the match

Danushka Gunathilaka reveals Kieron Pollard apologized after the match

West Indies captain Kieron Pollard had appealed for obstruction of the field against Gunathilaka.

Danushka Gunathilaka and Kieron Pollard
Danushka Gunathilaka and Kieron Pollard. (Photo Source: Twitter)

During the first ODI between West Indies and Sri Lanka at the Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Stadium in Antigua, an incident involving the skipper of the hosts, Kieron Pollard, has sparked a controversy. Danushka Gunathilaka was controversially given out due to obstruction of the field, an appeal which Pollard agreed to stand by during the match. 

However, the Sri Lanka opener has revealed that the West Indies captain had later apologized to him after the match ended. The incident happened when the visitors were cruising along well with both their openers having reached their fifties. However, Pollard introduced himself into the attack to first get rid of his opposite number, Dimuth Karunaratne.

In his second over with the ball, Gunathilaka nudged the ball, went a few steps forward, then decided not to go for the run. Meanwhile, the ball stayed on the pitch and Pollard chased it to get Gunathilaka run out. However, before the West Indies captain could gather the ball, Gunathilaka’s feet had by mistake touched the ball. 

He told me he didn’t see that properly at that time: Danushka Gunathilaka on Kieron Pollard

Pollard was seen as angry and animated on the field as he appealed to the umpires for the obstruction of the field. The on-field umpire sent the decision to the third umpire, giving a soft signal as out. The third umpire ruled the batsman out and the Sri Lankan team management and head coach Mickey Arthur seemed not happy with the call. 

After the match, the West Indies all-rounder decided to go up to Gunathilaka and apologize. The opener revealed that Pollard admitted that he didn’t see the video at the time and only realised after it that the batsman was not at fault. “He apologized. He told me he didn’t see that properly at that time, and only after he saw the video he realized I didn’t do anything,” Danushka Gunathilaka told Sri Lankan news outlet NewsWire.

West Indies cricket had also uploaded a picture of the two players chatting after the match on Twitter. Pollard was seen putting his arm around the shoulder of the Sri Lanka batsman to console him.